Skip to Content

University Lecturers Committee

Function and Meeting Information:

Reviews proposals from departments and groups to bring outstanding lecturers to the university, and apportions funds approved for this purpose. The committee is comprised of one faculty member per college, plus one Library representative.

The committee meets once per year, January-March, for approximately 2-3 hours. Application review varies depending on number of applicants; annual time commitment is from a few to several hours.

2020 - 2021 Members

Please note: committee appointments for the 2020-21 academic year are effective through August 31, 2021. The senate is in the process of making appointments for the 2021-22 academic year and updates will be posted at the beginning of the fall semester.

University Lecturers Committee College Term Exp Email
Dr. Omar Lopez Applied Arts 2021
Dr. Andrew Ojede Business 2022
Mr. Jason Woolery Education 2021 Jw200@
Dr. Michael Ippolito Fine Arts and Communication 2023
Dr. Megan Trad Health Professions 2022
Dr. Shannon Duffy Liberal Arts 2023
Mrs. Lynn Bostwick Library 2022
Dr. Weam Al-Tameemi Science and Engineering 2023
Dr. Kristy Daniel, Chair at-large Science and Engineering 2021
Ms. Camille Settegast Student Government 2021

University Lecturers Series

The Faculty Senate’s University Lecturers Committee reviews requests from colleges, schools, departments and campus organizations for assistance to bring outstanding guest lecturers or mini-symposia speakers to Texas State University during the long semesters (funding is not available for Summer sessions). Limited Student Services Fee funds are awarded based on the committee’s review of proposals and recommendations to the Faculty Senate.

Primary Proposal Round (for lectures the following academic year)

A call for proposals will be issued by the Faculty Senate in November to alert faculty and university organizations to the early February proposal due date for lectures to be offered the following spring or fall. Notification of funding awards will typically be sent in April.

The committee will recommend funding for the highest ranked proposals. In order to support as many proposals as possible, each award is limited to no more than $3,000.

Application Information

Prior to submitting a proposal, applicants should contact the speaker or speaker’s agent to determine availability and fees. This is important because awarded funds cannot be transferred to a replacement speaker.  University Lecturers Series funds may only be requested for speaker fees, and if needed, travel and accommodations. Receptions, incidentals (such as printing, food, flowers), and other costs will not be funded. 

Proposals should document the prestige and significance of the speaker, delineate plans for the event (including advertising), provide budget outline showing collaboration across university units, and indicate the potential for reaching the broadest and most diverse audience possible.

Proposal Evaluation Process

The University Lecturers Committee will review and discuss proposals and, if necessary, will make budget adjustments.

Each committee member will assign a score to each proposal based on the following rubric.

Rubric score totals will be listed in ranked order. The committee will recommend as many proposals judged to merit funding as the budget allows, starting with the top-ranked proposal and progressing through the ranked list. Proposals must follow articulated guidelines on formatting and legth as well as earn a minimum average of 70 points per reviewer to be considered for funding.

Please note that all funded sponsors are required to provide a brief follow-up report to the committee within one month following the event. Sponsors are responsible for submitting all payment paperwork with assistance from their department/school administrative assistants.

College University Lecturers Committee 1 faculty per college and 1 library Term Exp Email
Applied Arts Angela Jones Assistant Professor, Criminal Justice & Criminology 2024
Business Andrew Ojede Associate Professor, Finance and Economics 2022
Education Megan Haynes Senior Lecturer, Health and Human performance 2024
Fine Arts and Communication Michael Ippolito Associate Professor, Music 2023
Health Professions Megan Trad Professor, Radiation Therapy 2022
Liberal Arts Shannon Duffy Senior Lecturer, History 2023
Library Lynn Bostwick Librarian, Round Rock Campus Library 2022
Science and Engineering Weam Al-Tameemi Lecturer, Mathematics 2023
Science and Engineering Kristy Daniel, Chair at-large Associate Professor, Biology 2024