Skip to Content

Faculty Senate Fellow

Please note: The deadline for applications has been extended to Friday, April 17.

Dr. Shannon Duffy, Senior Lecturer in the Department of History, is this year's Faculty Senate Fellow.

She will be addressing issues related to academic freedom, particularly with regard to nontenure line faculty, and as it relates to the growth of social media.

The position of Faculty Senate Fellow offers a professional development opportunity for faculty members by providing shared governance and leadership experience at Texas State. Working on a special project with the Faculty Senate and attending meetings with the President and others, the Faculty Senate Fellow will become familiar with the routine and special concerns of the Senate and gain insight into the shared governance process at Texas State University.

For the 2020-21 academic year, the Fellow's research project should support the Faculty Senate’s commitment to environmental awareness and sustainable practices.The Senate is interested in ways to include more voices in the formulation of policies, hiring and in the governing of the institution.

Position – One-year term appointment with possible 3 workload credits in a long semester

Eligible Candidates – Full-time faculty with at least three years’ experience at Texas State

Responsibilities – Complete a proposed research project and attend Faculty Senate, University Leadership Assembly and other designated governance meetings

The following documents are due to April 17, 2020.

  • Curriculum vita
  • Statement of interest: 50 to 100 words describing your interest in the position
  • Proposed research project narrative addressing ways to promote sustainable practices and awareness of environmental issues, through policies and curriculum (250 to 500 words). Consultation with a Faculty Senator is recommended.
  • A signed memo from the department chair/school director confirming willingness to assign a replacement instructor for one of your classes (not funded by the department/school) if you are selected as the Faculty Senate Fellow.