Skip to main content


anthro fieldsOur mission is to educate and train students to practice anthropology in the 21st century. Our department offers two undergraduate degrees, a Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) in Anthropology, and a Bachelor of Science (B.S.) in Anthropology, and one graduate degree, a Master of Arts (M.A.) in Anthropology.

The Department of Anthropology is part of the College of Liberal Arts at Texas State University. The department averages about 350 undergraduate majors and 45 graduate students distributed throughout the four anthropology subdisciplines. Our 16 full-time faculty members offer a wide variety of courses and projects to support our departmental mission and educational goals, including local research projects or field schools in Texas, Mexico and Belize.

All faculty members in the department are actively involved in research and other scholarly activities including fieldwork in the United States, Mexico, Belize, Peru, Madagascar, and the Republic of South Africa. The department houses the following research centers and institutes: the Center for Archaeological Studies, the Archaeological Curation Facility, the Center for the Art and Symbolism of Ancient America, the Forensic Anthropology Center at Texas State, the Gault Project of Archaeological Research, and the Center for Middle American Research.