Skip to Content

Mathworks Team Heads to Hong Kong

A team of outstanding Texas mathematics students will compete against teams from around the world in the 12th Primary Math World Contest in Hong Kong July 11-16.

 San Marcos Mayor Susan Narvaiz recently honors the San Marcos Mathworks team members, including Alexandra Ilic of Austin, Enoch Tsai of Spring and Lilly Shen and Bobby Shen of Sugarland who attended the two-week Texas Mathworks residential Junior Summer Math Camp.  They work with Sam Baethge, head of the Texas American Regional Mathematics League (ARML).

 They will be escorted to Hong Kong with team leaders Hiroko Warshauer, math faculty at Texas State Univeristy, and Susan Brown, principal at Miller Junior High School in San Marcos, to compete in both individual and team tests with forty other teams including Singapore, Japan, China, and Belgaria.

 The competition is sponsered by Po Leung Kuk a renowed Hong Kong welfare and school-sponsering organization that seeks to foster friendly relations among elementary and middle-school students from different countries.

 The San Marcos Mathworks Team is sponsered by the Siemens Foundation in partnership with Texas Mathworks.  The Siemens Foundation and the Kodosky Foundation are underwriting the Texas Mathworks Junior Summer Math Camp training program, ensuring that all students can participate regardless of their financial background.

 The goal of this program is to encourage and support young students in math and science.  This program prepares students who might also participate in the prestigious Siemens Competition for high school students that annually attacts over 1000 students nationwide, while offering scholarships that total over $1 million each year.

 For more information, contact Hiroko Warshauer at Texas State University Department of Mathematics at 512-245-8024.



MATH WHIZZES--Mayor Susan Narvaiz congratulations the Texas State University Mathworks' Team as the Texas students prepare to compete in Hong Kong in the 12th Primary Math World Contest July 11-16.  L-R Front row: Mayor Susan Narvaiz, Lilly Shen (Sugarland), Bobby Shen (Sugarland), Alexandra Ilic (Austin), Enoch Tsai (Spring), and Max Warshauer (Mathworks director).  Back row: Sam Baethge (ARML director), Susan Brown (Miller Junior High principal), Hiroko Warshauer (Texas State Math faculty), and Jian Shen (Texas State Math faculty).