Skip to Content

Academic Computing Committee

Function and Meeting Information:

Reviews proposals and makes recommendations to the senate for utilization of student computing funds. May also be called on to review budgets, policies and procedures relating to the academic use of computing resources.  Serves as a liaison between information technology and the university faculty via the senate. The committee is comprised of one faculty member per college, plus one Library representative.

The ACC typically meets five times a year and the committee’s work is primarily undertaken in February.
In the fall, the committee meets with the Vice President for Information Technology for about two hours to discuss funding priorities.  In the spring, members review proposals and make recommendations for funding.  The chair has the additional responsibilities of revising proposal documents and reporting the committee's recommendations to the Senate.

2017 - 2018 Members

Academic Computing Committee College Term Exp Email
Dr. Ken Smith Applied Arts 2018
Dr. Garry White, Chair Business 2019
Dr. Mayur Mehta Business 2018
Ms. Jessica Burke Education 2020
Dr. Cindy Royal Fine Arts and Communication 2020
Dr. Barbara Hewitt Health Professions 2020
Dr. Jeremy Wells Liberal Arts 2020
Dr. Wuxu Peng Science and Engineering 2018
Ms. Mary Aycock Library 2019
Dr. Carlos Solis VPIT ex oficio
Mr. Jose Rodriguez VPIT ex oficio
Mr. Kevin McCarty VPSA rep
Dr. Stan McClellan Provost appointee