Skip to Content

Retention Council

Dr. Joanne Smith, Vice President for Student Affairs, Lead Directors
Dr. Jen Beck, Director, Retention Management and Planning, Lead Directors

Mr. Jon Ahlberg, Associate Director, International Affairs
Ms. Lisa Allen, Director, Student Business Services
Dr. Margarita Arellano, Dean of Students and Associate Vice President, Student Affairs
Dr. Deborah Balzhiser, Associate Professor, English
Dr. Dann Brown, Dean, University College and Director, PACE Center
Dr. Jose Coll, School Director and Professor, Social Work
Dr. Rosario Davis, Interim Assistant Vice President, International Affairs
Dr. Susan Day, Professor, Liberal Arts
Dr. Carol Dochen, Director, Student Learning Assistance Center
Ms. Julie Eckert, Assistant Director, Student Health Center
Dr. Laurie Fluker, Associate Professor, Fine Arts and Communication
Dr. Ruben Garza, Assistant Dean, Education
Dr. Andrea Golato, Dean, Graduate College
Ms. Melissa Hyatt, Associate University Registrar, University Registrar
Dr. Sheyenne Krysher, Assistant Director, Career Services
Mr. Herb Jones, Associate Director, Housing and Residential Life
Mr. Ralph Leal, Interim Director, Career Services
Ms. Jessica Martin, Student Development Specialist II, Disability Services
Ms. Toni Moreno, Assistant Director, Student Diversity and Inclusion
Dr. Christopher Murr, Director, Financial Aid and Scholarships
Dr. Michael Nava, Associate Dean, University College and PACE Center
Mr. Terence Parker, Assistant Director, Retention Management and Planning
Dr. Greg Passty, Assistant Dean, Science and Engineering
Dr. Joanne Salas, Senior Psychologist, Counseling Center
Mr. Jesse Silva, Associate Director, Student Diversity and Inclusion
Mr. Gavin Steiger, Director, Disability Services
Dr. Marc Turner, Senior Research Analyst, Institutional Research
Mr. Trevon Walker, Assistant Director, Campus Recreation
Dr. Ruth Welborn, Dean, Health Professions
Dr. Rachael Weldon-Caron, Director, Student Support Services
Dr. Patrice Werner, Chair and Associate Professor, Curriculum and Instruction, Education
Dr. David Wierschem, Associate Professor, McCoy College of Business
To Be Named , LBJ Student Center
To Be Named, Student Diversity and Inclusion

The mission of the Council is to serve as collaborative partners that will research, develop, implement, and evaluate effective retention efforts across campus that positively impact the retention to graduation rates of Texas State students with specific emphasis on targeted sub-populations who exhibit the need for more intensive retention efforts.