Skip to Content

University Safety Committee

Dr. Bill Brittain, Representative, Chemistry and Biochemistry, Chair (R)

Dr. Viola Benavente, Representative, Faculty Senate (R)
Dr. Mike Blanda, Representative, Academic Affairs (R)
Dr. Emilio Carranco, Director, Student Health Center (T)
Chief Laurie Clouse, Director, University Police Department (T)
Mr. Lou DeVirgillio, Representative, Round Rock Campus (R)
Mr. Kyle Estes, Representative, Housing and Residential Life (R)
Mr. Charlie Salas, Representative, Student Center (R)
Mr. Tom Shewan, Representative, Facilities (R)
Ms. Staci Wade, Representative, Staff Council (R)
Dr. Howard Williams, Representative, Faculty Senate (R)
To Be Named, Representative, Disability Services (R)
To Be Named, Representative, Human Resources (T)

Ex Officio:
Mr. Pat Cochran, Captain, University Police Department (T)
Mr. Tom Kelley, School Safety Specialist, Texas School Safety Center (T)
Ms. Wendy McCoy, Director, Environmental Health, Safety, and Risk Management (T)

Students Members:
Ms. Aliza Sotelo, Representative, Student Government
To Be Named, Representative, Graduate House
To Be Named, Representative, Underrepresented Student Advisory Council

It is the intent of the Texas State University Safety Committee to advise and assist the university administration in promoting an environment that is safe from recognized hazards for faculty, staff, students, and visitors. The Safety Committee will provide a forum for implementing, maintaining, and enhancing the safety culture and reviewing policies and procedures within Texas State. Texas State is committed to preventing injury and illness and promoting a safe and healthy work environment. Responsibility for this is shared by the administration, faculty, staff, students, Additional Duty Safety Officers, and the Safety Committee. The University Safety Committee may meet monthly to discuss topics of current concerns, but typically meetings are less frequent (approximately eight meetings a year). There is not specified length of terms for committee members.