Skip to Content

Laboratory Safety Committee

Casey Smith, Manager, Shared Research Operations, Chair (T)
To Be Named, Vice Chair (T) 

Carlos Baca, Senior Laboratory Services Technician, Chemistry and Biochemistry (R)
Joel Bergh, Senior Lecturer, Biology (R)
Ray Cook, Director, Engineer Support Services, Engineering (R)
Jeffrey Dell, Professor, Art and Design (T)
Jessica Dutton, Associate Professor, Biology (R)
Marcus Hendry, Health and Human Performance (R)
Sean Michael Kerwin, Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry,  (R)
Soon-Jae Lee, Program Faculty, Engineering Technology (R)
Matt McAllister, Health and Human Performance (R)
Juan Gomez Ortega, Scientific Instrument Technician, Physics (R)
Thomas Patterson, Associate Professor, Clinical Laboratory Science (R)
Collin Payne, Supervisor, Lab Services Technician, Engineering Technology (R)
Ramona Salcedo, Assistant Professor, Family & Consumer Sciences (T)
Alissa Savage, Scientific Instrument Technician, Shared Research Operations (R)
Jitendra Tate, Associate Professor, Engineering (R)
Daniel Wescott, Anthropology (T)
Mark Wistey, Associate Professor, Physics (R)
John Word, Senior Lab Services Technician, Biology (R)
To Be Named, Agriculture (T)

Ex Officio:
Mike Blanda, Associate Vice President, Research and Federal Relations (T)
Shea Cockrell, Supervisor, Environmental Health, Safety & Risk Management (T)
Grant Davis, Specialist, Environmental Health, Safety & Risk Management (T)
Wendy McCoy, Director, Environmental Health, Safety & Risk Management (T)
Elsie Romano, Senior Specialist, Environmental Health, Safety & Risk Management (T)
Chad Thomas, Supervisor, Lab Safety, Environmental Health, Safety & Risk Management (T)

The Laboratory Safety Committee reports to the Research Safety Committee which is part of the University Safety Committee. The Laboratory Safety Committee will support the Research Safety Committee through effective communication and support of laboratory safety and related policies and procedures.  The Laboratory Safety Committee provides a forum for implementing, maintaining, and enhancing the safety culture at Texas State.  The goal of the Laboratory Safety Committee is to promote compliance with applicable regulatory and institutional policies and procedures in order to ensure a safe and healthy work environment in the labs for faculty, staff, and students to provide a high quality academic setting.