Skip to Content

Institutional Biosafety Committee

Dr. Robert McLean, Regents Professor, Biology, Chair

Dr. Nihal Dharmasiri, Associate Professor, Biology (R)
Mr. Monty Gomez, Non-institutional Member (R)
Dr. Hong Gu Kang, Associate Professor, Biology (R)
Ms. Brigid Lednicky, Non-institutional Member (R)
Dr. Kevin (Lysle) Lewis, Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry (R)
Dr. Rodney Rohde, Program Chair and Professor, Clinical Laboratory Science and Associate Dean for Research, Health Professions (R)

Ex Officio:
Dr. Michael Blanda, Assistant Vice President, Research and Federal Relations (T)
Ms. Becky Northcut, Coordinator, Research Integrity Compliance, Research and Sponsored Programs (T)
Ms. Elsie Romano, Environmental Health and Safety Specialist, Environmental Health, Safety, and Risk Management (T)

Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBCs) were established under the NIH Guidelines for Research Involving Recombinant DNA Molecules to provide local review and oversight of nearly all forms of research utilizing recombinant DNA. Over time, many institutions have chosen to assign their IBCs the responsibility of reviewing a variety of experimentation that involves biological materials (e.g., infectious agents) and other potentially hazardous agents (e.g., carcinogens).