Skip to Content

ADA/504 Compliance and Steering Committee on Disabilities (VPUAdm)

Fernando Rojas, ADA Compliance Coordinator, Institutional Compliance, Chair (T)

Sarah Alvarez, Representative, University Advancement (R)
Ervin Brown, Coordinator, Campus Recreation (R)
Doug Bynum, Director, Facilities Operations (T)
Don Compton, Associate Director, Facilities Planning, Design, and Construction (T)
Clare Duffy, Assistant Director, Counseling Center (R)
Kyle Estes, Associate Director, Housing and Residential Life (T)
Robert Garcia, Representative, Staff Council, Assistant Director, Institutional Inclusive Excellence for Student Initiatives (R)
Aven Jackson, Student Development Specialist II, Disability Services (R)
Wendy McCoy, Director, Environmental Health, Safety, and Risk Management (T)
Mary Mears, Construction Contract Administrator, Facilities Planning, Design, and Construction (T)
Evan Pickrel, Electronic Information Resources Accessibility Coordinator, Information Technology (T)
Stephen Prentice, Assistant Director, Parking Services (T)
Clifford Ronan, Professor, English (R)
Brian Shanks, Director, Learning Spaces, IT Assistance Center (T)
Whitten Smart, Special Assistant, Information Technology (R)
Gavin Steiger, Director, Disability Services (T)
Larry Wheeler, Professor, Curriculum and Instruction (R)

Ex Officio:
Bobby Mason, Assistant Vice President, Institutional Compliance, Chief Compliance Officer (T)

Student Members:
To Be Named, Representative, Student Government
To Be Named, Representative, Student Government

The committee serves as a clearinghouse for disability issues and coordinates the university's efforts to ensure that Texas State's policies, programs, and services comply with ADA / ADAA (2008). The committee makes recommendations to the President's Cabinet and the Chief Compliance Officer regarding the university's compliance and Sec. 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990/Amended Act 2008.