Skip to Content

University Safety Committee (VPFSS)

Eric Algoe, Vice President for Finance and Support Services, Co-Chair (T)
Walt Horton, Associate Vice President for Research and Federal Relations, Co-Chair (T)

Ismael Amaya, Representative, Security and Personal Safety Committee (R)
Michael Blanda, Chair, Research Safety Committee (R)
Laurie Clouse, Chair, Security and Personal Safety Committee (R)
Colleen Cook, Representative, Environmental Health and Safety Committee (R)
Wendy McCoy, Chair, Environmental Health and Safety Committee (R)
Stella Silva, Interim Diversity Officer and Vice President for Institutional Inclusive Excellence for Faculty and Staff Initiatives (R)
Casey Smith, Representative, Research Safety Committee (R)
Megan Trad, Representative, Faculty (Appointed by Provost) (R)
To Be Named, Representative, Research Safety Committee (R)

Student Members:
Mr. Catching Valentis-Dee, Representative, Student (Appointed by VP Student Affairs)

The committee is responsible for the overall safety and security of the university and oversee developing and approving safety policies. Advises the university administration in promoting an environment that is safe from recognized hazards for faculty, staff, students, and visitors. This committee serves as an umbrella organization for three safety committees: Environmental Health and Safety Committee, Research Safety Committee, and Security and Personal Safety Committee.