Skip to Content

Student Government impeaches President Connor Clegg

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
Office of Media Relations
April 16, 2018

SAN MARCOS – Texas State University Student Government impeached Student Government President Connor Clegg during its final meeting of the year on April 16.

The previous attempt to conduct the impeachment trial on April 11 did not proceed because a quorum was not established.

Clegg now has the option of appealing the decision to Dean of Students Margarita Arellano, then Vice President of Student Affairs Joanne Smith, and finally Texas State President Denise Trauth, in that order. Clegg has three business days to file each subsequent appeal.

The Dean of Students is convening a task force comprised of representatives from various groups within the student body as well as faculty and staff to undertake a systematic review of Student Government and provide recommendations for changes to the governing documents. The recommendations are expected to be announced by spring 2019.

Share this article