Skip to Content

Phi Kappa Phi honor society to hold new member induction ceremony

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
Office of Media Relations
October 18, 2017

The Texas State University chapter of the Phi Kappa Phi honor society will hold a ceremony for new members on October 29.

The ceremony will take place at 2 p.m. in the LBJ Student Center Ballroom. Cynthia Opheim, professor of political science and former associate provost at Texas State, will serve as the keynote speaker.

Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines. Membership in the society is by invitation only. Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors, having at least 72 semester hours, are eligible for membership. Graduate students in the top 10 percent of the number of candidates for graduate degrees may also qualify, as do faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.

Texas State became the 325th chapter of Phi Kappa Phi in 2013. The inaugural class of student members was initiated in 2014.

Founded in 1897 at the University of Maine and headquartered in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, Phi Kappa Phi has chapters on more than 300 college and university campuses in North America and the Philippines. Approximately 32,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni are initiated into the society each year. Its mission is "To recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others.”

To learn more about the Texas State chapter of Phi Kappa Phi, visit

About Texas State University

Founded in 1899, Texas State University is among the largest universities in Texas with an enrollment of 38,694 students on campuses in San Marcos and Round Rock. Texas State’s 181,000-plus alumni are a powerful force in serving the economic workforce needs of Texas and throughout the world. Designated an Emerging Research University by the State of Texas, Texas State is classified under “Doctoral Universities: Higher Research Activity,” the second-highest designation for research institutions under the Carnegie classification system.

Share this article