Skip to Content

Physical therapy graduate lands McMillan award for scholarship

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
University News Service
June 7, 2012

Matt Seliga

Matthew Seliga

Matthew Seliga, a May 2012 Texas State University-San Marcos graduate from Tyler, has received the Mary McMillan Scholarship Award.

Seliga was honored with the award at the American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) Honors and Awards Celebration in Tampa, Fla.

Seliga received one of four Mary McMillan Scholarship Awards given by the APTA. The award is presented to a student from an accredited physical therapist professional education program in recognition of superior scholastic ability and potential for future contribution to physical therapy and service to the APTA.

While maintaining a 4.0 GPA, Seliga, served as a doctoral instructional assistant (DIA) for the Texas State Department of Physical Therapy. He also served as a DIA mentor and lab supervisor on campus. He served as vice president of the Department of Physical Therapy for his class of 2012 from June 2009 until May 2012 and served as vice president and eventually president of the Student Physical Therapy Association (SPTA).

During his leadership of the SPTA, Seliga developed an effective executive committee who improved communication between the 12 physical therapy programs. He also facilitated the quarterly newsletter, coordinated a student legislative day and participated in the APTA student special interest group at the combined sections meeting and APTA Annual Conference in both 2010 and 2011. He has also participated in Bobcat Build numerous times.

For more information, please contact the Texas State Department of Physical Therapy at (512) 245-8351.