Skip to Content

Texas State earns honorable mention in 2012 PRSA competition

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
University News Service
April 27, 2012

Texas State University was one of 12 universities in the nation to receive honorable mention recognition in the 2012 Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) National Case Study Competition.

This year’s clients were General Mills and United Way Worldwide. The campaign topic for this year’s competition was “Childhood Obesity.” Trista Bishop, Elizabeth McLellan, Holly Topper and Katie Wright comprised the 2012 Texas State team.

“Our students performed well in all phases of the campaign, from research and planning to execution,” said Charles Kaufman, SJMC senior lecturer and faculty adviser to the team. “They creatively branded their theme and implemented programs and social media platforms well, including a six-part interview with Mayor Daniel Guerrero, who committed the campaign month to healthy eating and exercise. He lost 18 pounds in the process. ‘Fit to the Core’ received attention from traditional media as well. I’m pleased we were in the running for the finals. Obviously, we were in some pretty good company.”

To reach students from underserved areas of San Marcos, the Texas State team worked through the local Head Start after-school program with food and fitness presentations. A variety of experts participated in activities in a club atmosphere for SMCISD students. The campaign touched the minds of students, parents and other targets with more than 95,000 impressions. United Way has embraced the campaign theme and plans to make it part of its future programs.

In addition to Texas State’s “Fit to the Core” campaign, entries earning honorable mention honors were Ball State University, Brigham Young University, Butler University, Chapman University, Drake University, Illinois State University, Louisiana State University, Seton Hall University, the University of Alabama, Utah Valley University and Western Kentucky University. A total of 70 universities entered this year's national competition organized through the Public Relations Society of America.