Skip to Content

University Convocation to be held in Strahan Coliseum

Posted by University News Service

Aug. 16, 2010


Faculty and staff are cordially invited to a University Convocation and Annual General Faculty Meeting at 9 a.m. on Tuesday, August 24, in Strahan Coliseum.  During this meeting, President Denise M. Trauth will present her Fall address.  All faculty and staff are invited to attend.  Academic regalia will not be worn.


The Convocation is being held in Strahan Coliseum this year due to renovations to Evans Auditorium. A shuttle bus will be available from the Quad Bus Loop (by the Bobcat Statue) to Strahan Coliseum from 8 a.m. to 11 a.m. 


Pastries and drinks will be served in the concourse of Strahan Coliseum on the Aquarena Springs Drive side starting at 8:15 a.m. 


Several faculty awards will be presented at this meeting: (1) the Presidential Award for Excellence in Scholarly/Creative Activities, (2) the Presidential Award for Excellence in Service, (3) the Presidential Award for Excellence in Teaching, (4) the Presidential Seminar Award (5) the Faculty Senate's Everette Swinney Excellence in Teaching Awards, (6) the Piper Professor Award, (7) the Alumni Association Teaching Award of Honor, (8) University Distinguished Professor Awards, (9) Excellence in Diversity Awards, and (10) the Distinguished Professor Emeritus.  Finally, the President will recognize last year's Employee of the Year and the recipient(s) of the Mariel Muir Mentoring Award.


Please plan to attend this special convocation marking the beginning of a new academic year.