Skip to Content

Opening Door Dance Theatre holds 25th anniversary gala

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
University News Service
October 28, 2009

Opening Door Dance Theatre

The Opening Door Dance Theatre will present its 25th anniversary gala October 29-30 at 7:30 pm in Evans Auditorium at Texas State University-San Marcos.

Admission is $10 for the general public and $5 for students (cash only). The box office opens at 6 p.m. on performance days. Parking will be available at the Pleasant Street Parking Garage.

Sponsored by the Department of Theatre and Dance, the gala features choreography and performances by Texas State University alumnae, faculty and guest artists such as Leanne Smith, Wendy Hambidge, Louis Kavouras, Michelle Nance, Shay Ishii, Caroline Sutton Clark, Matthwe Cumbie/Crysta Caulkins and Ana Baer-Carrillo.

The Opening Door Dance Theatre started in 1984 when a group of students wanted more professional performing opportunities. Sandy Rodriguez, Karen Moore (Earl), and LeAnne Smith, Artistic Director collaborated with the students and created a venue for faculty, guest artists, and advanced students to have the opportunity to work in a professional setting.

For more information, call (512) 245-2949.