Skip to Content

Augustin, Wilson honored with Excellence in Mentoring Award

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
University News Service
June 10, 2009

Muir Award 2009

2009 Mariel M. Muir Excellence in Mentoring Award winners Byron Augustin (left) and Jonnie Wilson.

Byron Augustin and Jonnie Wilson have been honored with the 2009 Mariel M. Muir Excellence in Mentoring Award at Texas State University-San Marcos.
Augustin is a professor in the Department of Geography. Wilson is assistant director of Multicultural Student Affairs. Both recipients will be recognized at the fall convocation.
The Mariel M. Muir Excellence in Mentoring Award, named after the former dean of the College of Science, is given to those who demonstrate their commitment to assisting hopeful professionals. Their time, effort and advice builds the foundation for future leaders and their passion for their work does not go unnoticed.
Texas State President Denise M. Trauth and a board of advisors decide the recipients. The award is given annually to a faculty member and a staff member, along with a letter from the President Trauth, a plaque and a check for $2,500.