Skip to Content

Governor Perry appoints three to Board of Regents


Posted by Mark Hendricks

University News Service


AUSTIN – Gov. Rick Perry has appointed three new regents to the Texas State University System Board of Regents.

Charlie Amato of San Antonio is co-owner and chairman of Southwest Business Corporation. He is incoming chairman of the University of the Incarnate Word Board of Trustees, and past chairman of Christus Santa Rosa Health Care Corporation and the Sam Houston State University School of Business Advisory Council. Amato is a board member and past chairman of the Greater San Antonio Chamber of Commerce, and a member of the University of Texas at San Antonio Development Board. He received a bachelor’s degree from Sam Houston State University . His term expires February 1, 2013.

Ron Blatchley of Bryan is the co-owner of BMB Homes, a residential construction company. He is a former mayor and city council member for the City of Bryan . He has worked in higher education for more than 20 years, which includes serving as director of student affairs at Texas A&M University and director of student activities at North Texas State University . Blatchley received a bachelor’s and master’s degree in education from Sam Houston State University . His term expires February 1, 2011.

Michael Truncale of Beaumont is a senior partner at Orgain Bell and Tucker, L.L.P. He is past president of the Jefferson County Bar Association and fellow at the Texas Bar Foundation. Truncale is a member of the Texas Association of Defense Counsel and the American Bar Association. He received a bachelor’s degree from Lamar University , a master of business administration from the University of North Texas ,  and a law degree from Southern Methodist University School of Law. His term expires February 1, 2013.

The Texas State University System is the oldest multi-campus system in Texas and plays a critical role in the educational and economic development of the state. It is governed by a nine member Board of Regents appointed by the Governor. In addition, a nonvoting student regent is appointed annually to the Board.

TSUS’s eight component institutions are committed to serving the people of Texas through education. The Texas State University System Institutions include:Lamar Institute of Technology; Lamar State College-Orange; Lamar State College-Port Arthur; Lamar University ; Sam Houston State University ; Sul Ross State University ; Sul Ross State University Rio Grande College ; and Texas State University-San Marcos.