Skip to Content

Criminal Justice professor honored with Bruce Smith Jr. Award

Date of release: 12/08/05

SAN MARCOS—Joycelyn Pollock, a professor in the Department of Criminal Justice at Texas State University-San Marcos, has been named this year’s recipient of the Bruce Smith Jr. Award for outstanding leadership and scholarship in criminal justice by the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences.

The award will be presented to Pollock at the annual ACJS spring meeting Feb. 28-March 4 in Baltimore, Md.

Pollock joined the Texas State faculty in 1993. She earned her J.D. from the University of Houston Law Center and graduated from the State University of New York at Albany with a Ph.D. and an M.A. in criminal justice. She received her B.A. in sociology from Whitman College in Walla Walla, Wash. In 1998, Pollock received the Fulbright Scholar Award, affording her the opportunity to teach a semester at the University of Turku Law School in Finland.

The Bruce Smith Jr. Award is award based on two criteria: Demonstration of leadership in the administration of criminal justice as an academic and/or professional discipline in a manner which reflects the highest standards of integrity and performance; and active involvement in criminal justice research or other endeavor which has made substantial contributions to the emerging body of knowledge in criminal justice.