Skip to Content

Regents approve Texas State Campus Master Plan

Date of Release: 05/28/2005

SANMARCOS—The Texas State University System Board of Regents has approved a Campus Master Plan for Texas State University-San Marcos that is designed to guide the university’s development through the year 2015.

The plan was prepared by the firm Broaddus and Associates of Austin with Ayers/Saint/Gross Architects and Planners of Baltimore. It was developed during months of meetings with students, faculty and staff and open forums and presentations to the Texas State and San Marcos communities.

The plan identifies the projects the university hopes can be funded over the next 10 years and includes a long-term vision that identifies several sites for academic buildings and residence halls that can be considered beyond 2015.

Projects identified in the 10-year plan include an undergraduate academic center, a fine arts and communication center, new residence halls, athletic facilities, a new alumni center, several parking garages as well as landscape and infrastructure improvements.

Early in the master planning process, five themes were identified that would serve as guiding principles during the development of the plan. Those themes were:

* Identity – To unify the campus with appropriate entrances and borders to indicate arrival on campus.
* Community – To showcase excellence while not sacrificing the carefully cultivated small-campus atmosphere and enhancing relationships with the San Marcos community.
* Natural Environment – To accentuate the unique physical characteristics of the campus and celebrate its natural beauty.
* Architecture – To achieve a cohesive architectural style.
* Mobility – To manage motorized and pedestrian traffic flow more effectively and safely in order to encourage and facilitate a walking and bicycle-friendly campus.

Additional information on the Texas State Campus Master Plan is available online at

Meeting Thursday and Friday, May 26 and 27, in Beaumont on the campus of Lamar University, the regents also adopted a resolution honoring Texas State Prof. Byron Augustin for being named a Piper Professor for 2005 by the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation of San Antonio.

Augustin, a professor in Texas State’s acclaimed Department of Geography, has received more than 30 awards for outstanding teaching, including Texas State’s Presidential Award for Excellence in Teaching, the Alumni Association’s Teaching Award of Honor, the Distinguished Teaching Achievement Award from the National Council for Geographic Education and the Outstanding Educator Award from the San Marcos Chamber of Commerce.

The Piper Foundation annually honors Texas professors for outstanding contributions to the field of teaching. Augustin is the 14th Texas State faculty member to be named a Piper Professor.

In other Texas State-related business, the board:

* Authorized the university to award a purchase order of $452,878 to FAC Services Inc. of Dallas for facility maintenance services at the Round Rock Higher Education Center.
* Authorized the university to purchase property at 327, 336 and 344 W. Wood Street, contingent upon the approval of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board and subject to the review of the TSUS vice chancellor and general counsel.
* Authorized the university to add a master of science program in population and conservation biology in the Department of Biology. The degree program will prepare students for jobs as conservation specialists, endangered species and preserve managers, natural resource managers, landscape ecologists, ecosystem ecologists, population geneticists, museum curators or systemacists. Graduates will also be positioned to enter doctoral programs in ecology, behavioral ecology, conservation biology, population and evolutionary biology, systematics and biodiversity.
* Acknowledged gifts to the university of $5,000 or more.

The Roy F. and Joann Cole Mitte Foundation donated securities to create a permanent endowment for the University Honors Program. The program was renamed the Mitte Honors Program.

Harold S. Nelson donated two gifts to the Clara F. Nelson Music Scholarship.

Sac-N-Pac Stores Inc. made a payment on its pledge to the Athletic Facility Fund.

A gift from the estate of Terri Murdock established the Terri O’Gara Murdock Endowment in Social Work.

The Hobby Family Foundation made a donation designated for the G. Jack Gravitt Professorship in Media Studies.

Patricia Metzler made a donation to the memorial endowment for Patrick L. Metzler, a 1993 graduate of the Department of Criminal Justice.

Michael R. Young made a donate to support scholarships in the Department of Geography.

A gift from the estate of Lois Blaney was earmarked to benefit the Blaney Criminal Justice Scholarship and the Blaney Health Sciences Scholarship.

Lillian Wacker Hageman made a donation to support the Athletic Facility Fund.

Mary Nell Hoover made two gifts in support of the Nell and Dexter Hoover Endowed Scholarship in Education.

The Azadoutioun Foundation contributed to the Southwestern Writers Collection-Wittliff Account.

Brian R. Brettschneider made a donation to establish the Karen Brettschneider Geography Scholarship Endowment.

Theresa Treece Gordon contributed to establish the Theresa Gordon Endowment for voice scholarships.

Debbie Levey donated in support of the Honors Summer Math Camp.

The Texas Pioneer Foundation contributed in support of the 2005 Alumni Scholarship Fund.

The Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation donated to the Texas State Office of Student Financial Aid for need-based grants to needy students.

James E. and Peggy S. Johnson donated in support of the women’s basketball program.

CenterPoint Energy donated in support of the Celebrity Classic.

An anonymous donor contributed in support of the Criminal Justice Endowed Chair in Geoprofiling.

* Approved a memorandum of understanding between the university and the Texas State Alumni Association and approved the association’s bylaws.
* Authorized the university to grant an easement to Bluebonnet Electric Cooperative on university property on McCarty Lane.
* Authorized final acceptance of the Lantana Hall heating, ventilation and air conditioning project.
* Approved an out-of-country study program in Belize.
* Approved routine curriculum changes, budget adjustments, course fees and personnel matters.

The TSUS Board of Regents governs Angelo State University in San Angelo, Lamar University in Beaumont, Lamar State College-Port Arthur, Lamar State College-Orange, Lamar Institute of Technology in Beaumont, Sam Houston State University in Huntsville, Texas State and Sul Ross State University in Alpine, including the Rio Grande College with campuses in Del Rio, Eagle Pass and Uvalde.

Members of the board are Alan W. Dreeben of San Antonio, chair; Kent Adams of Beaumont, vice chair; Dora G. Alcala of Del Rio; John E. Dudley of Comanche; Dionicio “Don” Flores of El Paso; Bernie C. Francis of Addison; James A. “Jimmy” Hayley of Texas City; and Pollyanna A. Stephens of San Angelo. Charles Matthews is chancellor of the system.