Skip to Content

Alvin R. Curette named LBJ Outstanding Senior Student at Texas State

Date of Release: 05/23/2005

SANMARCOS—Alvin R. Curette of Port Arthur has been named the recipient of the 2005 LBJ Outstanding Senior Student Award at Texas State University-San Marcos.
Curette received a bachelor of science degree in psychology with a minor in biology at Texas State commencement ceremonies May 13, and plans to pursue graduate studies in student affairs at Kansas University in Lawrence, Kan.

A Dean’s List student, Curette is a member of the National Golden Key Honor Society and was the recipient of several academic awards, including the LBJ Achievement Scholarship, the Liberal Arts Award for Academic Excellence, the Science Award for Academic Excellence, and the Black Students Association’s Black Male Leader of the Year award.

Alvin Curette receiving award with President Trauth.
Alvin R. Curette (left) is presented with the LBJ Outstanding Senior Student Award by Texas State University President Denise Trauth and Texas State Alumni Association President Brad Koenig.

Curette has served as president of Black Men United, one of the largest student organizations on the Texas State Campus, secretary of the Texas State Chapter of the NAACP, a member of the Ebony Players acting group and served as coordinator of the Texas State African American Leadership Conference. His public service work includes involvement in Bobcat Build, Special Olympics, the Texas State Mentor program, Thanksgiving canned food drives and volunteer work as a church youth director.

The LBJ Outstanding Senior Student Award is one of the most prestigious designations a Bobcat can receive. Given annually, the award is made to one student who has demonstrated and practiced the highest standards of integrity, academic and extracurricular achievements, leadership and involvement at Texas State.

The award is named in honor of Lyndon B. Johnson, 36th president of the U.S. and Texas State Class of ’30. Nominees must have a minimum of 60 hours at Texas State, be candidates for graduation in the spring of the year that the award is conferred or have graduated the preceding August or December.