Skip to Content

Regents officially add ‘Engineering’ to Technology Department name

Date of Release: 02/21/2005

SAN MARCOS—The Texas State University System Board of Regents has authorized Texas State University-San Marcos to rename its Department of Technology the Department of Engineering and Technology effective with the 2005 fall semester.

Texas State introduced its first engineering degree program – in manufacturing engineering – in 2000. It has since added a degree program in industrial engineering, and plans have been approved for the university to seek approval of a program in electrical engineering within two years. Plans for additional engineering programs at Texas State are also in the discussion stage.

“The current department name no longer reflects the variety of programs in technology and engineering that the department offers,” said Perry Moore, provost and vice president of academic affairs at Texas State. “A name change to Engineering and Technology fully reflects the current nature of the department.”

Programs now being offered by the department include information systems management, industrial engineering, manufacturing engineering, engineering technology, industrial technology, manufacturing technology, construction technology, and digital and photographic imaging (moving to the Department of Art and Design in the fall.)

Meeting Thursday and Friday, Feb. 17 and 18, in Huntsville on the campus of Sam Houston State University, the regents also redesignated the Texas State Department of Mass Communication. Effective in the fall of 2005, the department will become the School of Journalism and Mass Communication.

The department currently enrolls more than 1,600 students in five undergraduate majors and a master’s degree program, making it one of the largest such departments in the country. The department recently received national professional accreditation from the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communication, meeting all 12 accreditation standards.

Programs currently being offered by the department included bachelor’s and master’s programs in mass communication and bachelor’s degree programs in print journalism, electronic media, public relations, and advertising.

In other action, the board changed the name of the post-graduate certificate in Lawyer’s Assistant to Paralegal Studies, changed the name of several majors in the Family and Consumer Sciences Department and moved the digital and photographic imaging program from the Department of Technology to the Department of Art and Design.

In other Texas State related business, the board:

* Rejected all bids for drainage improvements to the baseball and softball fields. New bids will be accepted after the project is redesigned to lower the cost, and it is anticipated that a construction contract will be awarded in March with work to begin in the summer.

* Authorized the university to renew for three years the employment contracts of head football coach David Bailiff and head volleyball coach Karen Chisum.

* Authorized the university to accept as complete the Strahan Coliseum expansion project and the Roy F. and Joann Cole Mitte Art, Technology and Physics Complex.

* Approved a revised memorandum of agreement between the university and the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department regarding the Texas Rivers Center at San Marcos Springs project.

* Acknowledged gifts to the university of $5,000 or more.

The Roy F. and Joann Cole Mitte Foundation contributed to the Mitte Scholars Program and the Grosvenor Endowment.

The Albert and Margaret Alkek Foundation contributed to the Supple Endowment for Southwestern Studies.

The Association for Computing Machinery donated in support of the Department of Computer Science.

Johanna S. and O.C. Haley contributed to the Strutters Endowed Scholarship.

A bequest was received from the estate of Mildred C. Gudeas to benefit the McKeen Scholarship in Creative Writing.

IBM donated in support of the international computer science competition.

The PSH Foundation donated in support of the Reed Parr Endowment.

Betty W. and Harold J. Marburger donated in support of the Harold and Betty Marburger Scholarship.

K-W Construction contributed to support the CenturyTel-Texas State 2004 Celebrity Classic.

Jim L. West made a contribution supporting the Bobcat Athletic Foundation.

Larry L. Wright donated to support the College of Science and the Air Force ROTC program.

Michael R. Young made a contribution to the Geography Department.

The Celia Berwin Memorial Foundation contributed to support the Berwin Memorial Foundation Scholarship.

The Direct Selling Education Foundation made a donation in support of research in the Department of Marketing in the McCoy College of Business Administration.

North Carolina Furniture Direct made a gift in-kind to the sleep lab in the College of Health Professions.

Irene Abernathy contributed in support of the Elton Abernathy Endowment.

Anthony “Lucky” Tomblin donated to the Karen Earl Memorial Dance Scholarship.

Dieste Harmel & Partners-Dallas donated in support of the Department of Mass Communication.

J.L. Lewis donated in support of the men’s golf team.

Darlene Schmidt donated in support of the Garden of Achievement Fund.

* Approved the university’s Optional Retirement Program and Tax Deferred Account vendor specifications.

* Adopted room and board rates and apartment rental rates for the 2005-2006 academic year.

* Approved a memorandum of understanding between the university and the Texas State Parents Association and the association’s articles of incorporation and by-laws.

* Transferred funds from the Johnston-Wendler Scholarship Endowment and the Wright Scholarship Endowment to the Texas State Development Foundation.

* Approved routine course fees, personnel matters, budget adjustments, curriculum changes, out-of-country study programs and 12th class day reports.

The TSUS Board of Regents governs Angelo State University in San Angelo, Lamar University in Beaumont, Lamar State College-Port Arthur, Lamar State College-Orange, Lamar Institute of Technology in Beaumont, Sam Houston State University in Huntsville, Texas State and Sul Ross State University in Alpine, including the Rio Grande College with campuses in Del Rio, Eagle Pass and Uvalde.

Members of the nine-member board are Alan W. Dreeben of San Antonio, chair; Kent Adams of Beaumont, vice chair; Dora G. Alcala of Del Rio; Patricia Diaz Dennis of San Antonio; John E. Dudley of Comanche; Dionicio “Don” Flores of El Paso; Bernie C. Francis of Addison; James A. “Jimmy” Hayley of Texas City; and Pollyanna A. Stephens of San Angelo.