Skip to Content

The Sights and Sounds of Place poster winners announced

Date released: 11/15/04

SAN MARCOS —The Texas Alliance for Geographic Education has announced the winners of the 17th Annual Geography Awareness Week (GAW) Poster Contest. This year’s theme, Cultures: The Sights and Sounds of Place, allowed students to illustrate the importance of our natural, cultural, and historic treasures in Texas.

First place winners are second grader Robert Mendelsohn of Huffman Elementary (Plano), fourth grader Arjomaan Mozumder of Wells Elementary (Plano), seventh grader Audrey Rutherford of Aledo Middle School (Aledo) and ninth grader Tyler Guinn of New Braunfels High School (New Braunfels). Each student will receive their awards before their family and friends at the Capitol in Austin on Nov. 17.

The students’ teachers will also be recognized. The award-winning teachers are: Mrs. Lichtenberger of Huffman Elementary; Mrs. Beall of Wells Elementary; Mrs. Wilie of Aledo Middle School; and Mr. Wenzel of New Braunfels High School.

Each year the Texas Alliance for Geographic Education, headquartered at Texas State University-San Marcos, sponsors a statewide poster contest from kindergarten through 12th grade for students to celebrate Geography Awareness Week (November. 14-20). The winning posters from each campus, by grade category (K-2, 3-5, 6-8 and 9-12), were sent to Texas State for statewide judging.

Troy Kimmel, Elizabeth Nash, and Jo Beth Oestrich served as judges to determine the statewide winner in each grade division. The judges selected first through honorable mention winners in each grade division. The posters will be on display in the Evans Liberal Arts building at Texas State University and other venues.
K-2 Division: 1, Robert Mendelsohn, Huffman Elementary (Plano); 2, Victoria Buendia, Delaney Primary (Kennedale); 3, Preston Sanderson, Forman Elementary (Plano); Honorable Mention, Tyler Norwood, Weatherford Elementary (Plano).

3-5 Division: 1, Arjomaan Mozumder, Wells Elementary (Plano); 2, Isabelle Erickson, Delaney Elementary (Kennedale); 3, Brooke Kotal, Sheldon Intermediate (Houston); Honorable Mention, David Lundquist, Concordia Lutheran (San Antonio).
6-8 Division: 1, Audrey Rutherford, Aledo Middle School (Aledo); 2, Byanka Gonzalez, St. John the Apostle Catholic (Ft. Worth); 3, Sarah Elam, Barbers Hill Middle School (Mont Belvieu); Honorable Mention, T.C. Damrow, Concordia Lutheran (San Antonio).

9-12 Division: 1, Tyler Guinn, New Braunfels High School (New Braunfels); 2, Brent Porter, Perryton High School (Perryton); 3, Kim Ewing, Canyon High School, (New Braunfels); Honorable Mention, Julie Lopez, Jefferson High School (San Antonio).