Skip to Content

Texas State to require writing test of applicants

Date released: 05/14/04

SAN MARCOS – Freshman applicants to Texas State University-San Marcos will be required to submit the writing component of either the SAT or the ACT to be considered for admission beginning with the entering class of 2006.

The new admission requirement was approved by the Texas State University System Board of Regents, which met Thursday and Friday, May 6 and 7, on the campus of Angelo State University in San Angelo.

Texas State currently requires freshman applicants to write and submit an admission essay. Forthcoming changes in the SAT and ACT examinations will include a writing component as a required part of the SAT and as an optional part of the ACT.

Initially, the writing assessment will be a supplement to the current admission essay. After comparing results from the writing tests and the admission essays, a determination will be made if both are still necessary.

In other action, the board authorized the university to implement an environmental service fee of $1 per student beginning with the 2004 fall semester. The fee was approved by a student referendum in March 2004. It will be used for recycling, environmental education, transportation, maintenance, irrigation and as matching funds for grants.

The board also approved an increase in the shuttle bus fee from $42 to $52 effective with the 2005 spring semester. The increase was approved in a student referendum in March. Due to increased demand, seven buses are being added, bringing the fleet size to 36. Annual service hours will be increased by 5,000 to a total of 45,000.

In other Texas State-related action, the board:

  • Accepted the guaranteed maximum price of $22,850,000 provided by Hensel Phelps Construction Co. of Austin for the Round Rock Higher Education Center and authorized the university to issue a work order to begin site work, foundation and utility work.
  • Adopted a resolution commending James D. Bell for his selection as a Piper Professor as one of the state’s outstanding college and university teachers.
  • Authorized the university to employ the firm of Broaddus and Associates of Austin with Ayers/Saint/Gross Architects and Planners of Baltimore to prepare the 2006-2015 Campus Master Plan at a fee not to exceed $600,000.
  • Authorized the university to take bids and issue purchase orders for furniture and equipment for the Education Building modification project at an estimated total cost of $553,903.
  • Acknowledged gifts to the university of $5,000 or more:

The Roy F. and Joann Cole Mitte Foundation contributed in support of the Mitte Scholars Fund.

Harold S. Nelson made a donation for scholarships in the School of Music.

The Albert and Margaret Alkek Foundation contributed in support of the electronic classroom in the Alkek Library and for faculty development programs.

Professor Emerita Luan Brunson-Haynes donated in support of the Martha Luan Brunson English Fellowship and the Bill Brunson endowed scholarship.

An anonymous donor made a contribution toward a charitable gift annuity.

Peggy Brunner donated in support of the Reed Parr Music Endowment.

The Greater Texas Foundation contributed to establish an endowment to provide scholarships to students attending Texas State.

The university received funds from the estate of Leon M. Liddell in support of the Bessie Ray Schuchard Education Endowment and the Bessie Ray Schuchard Library Endowment.

Elizabeth Brunson Vickers made a donation in support of various departments and programs in the College of Liberal Arts.

Ann Brunson Collins made a donation in support of various departments and programs in the College of Liberal Arts.

The Hobby Family Foundation donated in support of the Gravitt Professorship in Media Studies.

The Azadoutioun Foundation made a donation in support of the Southwestern Writers Collection.

Head Paint and Wallcovering Inc. made a donation in support of the David Bailiff Loyalty Fund.

Robert and Betty Hackney made a donation in support of the David Bailiff Loyalty Fund.

Richard A. Castro contributed in support of his insurance premium gift.

The Waco Independent School District provided funds in support of the Rising Star Writing Project.

Ralph B. Rushing made a donation to establish the Ralph B. Rushing Scholarship in Business Administration.

The Amgen Foundation provided a matching gift in support of the Bobcat Athletic Foundation.

Spencer C. Tucker contributed a gift-in-kind of artwork.

Centerpoint Energy Entex made a donation in support of the Celebrity Classic Scholarship.

The Educational Advancement Foundation made a donation in support of Mathworks.

Mary Nell Hoover contributed to the Nell and Dexter Hoover Endowment.

The Kodosky Foundation donated in support of Mathworks.

Dr. and Mrs. Richard E. Phillips made a donation in support of the David Bailiff Loyalty Fund.

  • Authorized the university to award contracts to the Vignette Corp. and Trendec for the acquisition and installation of a web content management software system.
  • Authorized the university to extend its contract with Salvaggio, Teal and Associates for services associated with the installation of a new financial and human resources administrative software system.
  • Authorized the university to create an account for the benefit of the University Camp with funds received from Laura S. Hutcheson in exchange for a right-of-way easement.
  • Accepted the endowment reports of the Texas State University-San Marcos Support Foundation, Development Foundation, Bobcat Athletic Foundation, Alumni Association Foundation, Parents Association and Friends of the Fine Arts and Communication Foundation.

Approved routine course fees, personnel matters and budget adjustments.

The TSUS Board of Regents governs the following eight components: Angelo State University in San Angelo, Lamar University in Beaumont, Lamar State College-Port Arthur, Lamar State College-Orange, Lamar Institute of Technology in Beaumont, Sam Houston State University in Huntsville, Texas State and Sul Ross State University in Alpine, including the Rio Grande College with campuses in Del Rio, Eagle Pass and Uvalde.

Members of the nine-member board are Alan Dreeben of San Antonio, chair; Kent Adams of Beaumont, vice chair; Patricia Diaz Dennis of San Antonio; John E. Dudley of Comanche; Dionicio “Don” Flores of El Paso; Bernie Francis of Carrollton; James A. “Jimmy” Hayley of Texas City; Nancy R. Neal of Lubbock; and Pollyanna A. Stephens of San Angelo.