Skip to Content

Three former Texas State professors honored by regents

Date released: 05/14/04

SAN MARCOS – Three retired professors from Texas State University-San Marcos have been designated as distinguished professors emeriti by the university’s Board of Regents.

Franklin A. Calsbeek, Grady G. Early and Lon R. Shell were honored by the Texas State University System Board of Regents during the board’s regular meeting May 7 in San Angelo on the campus of Angelo State University.

Calsbeek was awarded the title Distinguished Professor of Health Education Emeritus. He served Texas State as professor of health education and Health Education Division director from 1974 through 1995 and as assistant dean of the College of Education from 1981 through 1985.

Early was awarded the title Distinguished Professor of Computer Science Emeritus. Early served Texas State for 29 years from 1971 to 2000. He is the former director and chair of the Computer Science Department at Texas State and a former vice president of the Texas Academy of Science. He served 25 years as the academic advisor for computer science and served the university community on many councils, committees and on the Faculty Senate.

Shell was awarded the title of Distinguished Professor of Agriculture Emeritus. Shell entered phased retirement at the end of the 2001 academic year after 30 years of service to Texas State. During his years at the university, Shell recognized the need for a greater emphasis on agricultural mechanics/engineering coursework and developed a curriculum in agricultural systems management. He was awarded more than 50 state and national research grants and was internationally recognized for his research in the area of tractor performance.