Skip to Content

Regents approve major construction contracts for SWT, RRHEC

Date of release: 08/22/03

SAN MARCOS — The Texas State University System Board of Regents has awarded three construction contracts worth nearly $50 million for projects at Southwest Texas State University and the Round Rock Higher Education Center.

Meeting in Alpine on the campus of Sul Ross State University, the regents approved construction contracts for a permanent facility for the RRHEC, a new building for the SWT College of Business Administration and renovations and additional space for the SWT Education Building.

The regents authorized the university to award a design contract to Graeber, Simmons and Cowan Inc. of Austin and a construction manager at risk contract to Hensel-Phelps Construction of Austin in an amount not to exceed $27 million for planning, design and construction of the permanent facility for the RRHEC. Before the funds can be expended, however, a contract for the site must be executed by the regents.

The RRHEC is a partnership of SWT, Austin Community College and Temple College at Taylor that provides higher education opportunities in North Austin and Williamson County.

The regents awarded a construction contract of $18.8 million to W.G. Yates and Son Construction Co. of San Antonio for the new College of Business Administration building. Including the contract for an adjacent parking garage that was awarded at a previous meeting, the College of Business Administration construction project will cost approximately $33.6 million.

A contract to expand and renovate the Education Building was awarded to K-W Construction Co. of San Antonio in the amount of $3.9 million.

In other SWT related action, the regents:

  • Increased designated tuition by $10 per semester credit hour, the library fee by $2 per hour and the computer use fee by $2 per hour to recover legislative appropriations reductions made by the 78th Legislature. Designated tuition will be $56 per semester credit hour effective in the spring 2004 semester.
  • Adopted the budget for the 2004 fiscal year. The new budget shows estimated income and balances of approximately $246 million and budget requirements of approximately $235 million.
  • Increased the correspondence study fee from $63 to $85 per semester credit hour and authorized the university to implement a $1 per semester environmental service fee if approved by student vote in the 2003 fall semester.
  • Authorized the university to take bids and issue purchase orders for furniture and equipment for the new Student Health Center at an estimated cost of $520,000.
  • Acknowledged gifts to the university of $5,000 or more.

James Studer made a contribution in memory of his wife, Lesley Jones, to increase the memorial scholarship established in her name.

A gift-in-kind of an electron microscope was received by the Department of Physics from the University of Texas at Dallas.

CenturyTel made a contribution in support of the SWT Celebrity Classic Scholarship.

The American Recovery Association made a donation to establish the Kenneth Long Memorial Endowment to fund scholarships for students in the College of Business Administration.

The university received a contribution from the Burdine Johnson Foundation for the Katherine Anne Porter creative writing project.

Laura S. Hutcheson made a donation to establish the University Camp projects fund.

The Greater Texas Foundation made a donation to fund the Removing Educational Barriers Scholarship.

The university received a gift from the estate of Lois Blaney to increase scholarships in criminal justice and health sciences.

The Compass Group made a donation in support of the SWT Celebrity Classic Scholarship.

Head Paint and Wallcovering made a donation in support of the end zone complex at Bobcat Stadium.

The H.E. Butt Grocery Co. made a donation in support of the SWT Celebrity Classic Scholarship.

Michael R. Young made a contribution for geography scholarships.

A cash donation from the Compass Group was received by the SWT Development Foundation.

Dr. and Mrs. Everette Swinney made a donation to the Centennial Campaign to benefit the Swinney Faculty Development Fund.

Richard A. Castro made a donation for his planned gift.

Mildred Roddy made a donation in support of the Katherine Anne Porter creative writing project.

Rebecca Hawener made a contribution to support scholarships from the C.D. Marshall Endowed Scholarship.

Hill Country Sports Medicine made a contribution to support the Department of Athletics.


A matching gift was received from the Gannett Foundation to increase the Flores Mass Communication Endowment.

Jon Kurt Blaschke made a donation in support of the Don and Reba Blaschke Scholarship.

Ikon Office Solutions made a contribution in support of the SWT Celebrity Classic Scholarship.

Capstone Development/Bobcat Village made a contribution in support of the Department of Athletics.

CenturyTel made a donation to support the Department of Athletics.

Frost National Bank made a donation to support the Department of Athletics.

Segafredo Zanetti USA Inc. made a contribution to support the SWT Celebrity Classic Scholarship.

Mr. and Mrs. Guillermo A. Wolff made a donation to increase the Guillermo Antonio Wolff Memorial Scholarship.

  • Authorized the university to accept as complete the Spring Lake Dam repair project.
  • Awarded new three-year special employment contracts to baseball coach Ty Harrington and softball coach Richelle Woodard.
  • Authorized the university to transfer assets of a charitable remainder unitrust established by Reed Brantley Parr to the Lewis A. and Reed Brantley Parr Presidential Endowment with the SWT Development Foundation.
  • Ratified a lease agreement with One Highland Center for space for the Small Business Development Center in Austin.
  • Authorized the university to lease retail space in the LBJ Student Center to Aztec Printing to provide custom screen printing and embroidery of t-shirts banners and promotional products and advertising specialties.

The TSUS Board of Regents governs the following eight components: Angelo State University in San Angelo, Lamar University in Beaumont, Lamar State College-Port Arthur, Lamar State College-Orange, Lamar Institute of Technology in Beaumont, Sam Houston State University in Huntsville, SWT and Sul Ross State University in Alpine, including the Rio Grande College with campuses in Del Rio, Eagle Pass and Uvalde.

Members of the nine-member board are John P. Hageman of Austin, chair; James A. “Jimmy” Hayley of Texas City, vice chair; Kent Adams of Beaumont; Patricia Diaz Dennis of San Antonio; Alan W. Dreeben of Schertz; Dionicio “Don” Flores of El Paso; Nancy R. Neal of Lubbock; Pollyanna A. Stephens of San Angelo; and James L. Sweatt III of De Soto. Chancellor Lamar Urbanovsky manages the system office in Austin.