Skip to Content

SWT announces faculty promotions and tenures

Date of release: 05/08/03

SAN MARCOS — Thirty-five faculty members have been promoted and 17 have been granted tenure at Southwest Texas State University.

The promotions and tenure actions were approved Thursday by the Texas State University System Board of Regents and become effective Sept. 1.

Promoted from associate professor to professor (with academic department in parentheses) were Michael Blanda (chemistry and biochemistry), Elaine Eikner (accounting), Dagoberto Gilb (English), Stephen Gordon (educational administration and psychological services), Catherine Hawkins (social work), James Hudson (music), Lesley Jones (educational administration and psychological services), Ruby Kishan (finance and economics), Susan Macey (geography), Barbara Melzer (physical therapy) and Roque Mendez (psychology).

Also promoted from associate professor to professor were Tomas Mijares (criminal justice), Dorinda Noble (social work), Beverly Penn (art and design), Sandhya Rao (mass communication), Jovita Ross-Gordon (educational administration and psychological services), Alicia Scribner (educational administration and psychological services), David Shields (art and design), James Stutzman (finance and economics), Jim Summers (health administration) and Ben Zhan (geography).

Promoted from assistant professor to associate professor were Ann Burnette (communication studies), Ian Davidson (music), Richard Dixon (geography), Michael Forstner (biology), Wilhelmus Geerts (physics), Patti Giuffre (sociology), Diana Gonzales (communication disorders), Gary Hartman (history), Joey Martin (music), Timothy Mottet (communication studies), Teya Rosenberg (English), Linette Watkins (chemistry and biochemistry), Toni Watt (sociology) and Walter Wright (political science).

Awarded tenure were Jean Brender (health services research), Ian Davidson (music), Richard Dixon (geography), Wilhelmus Geerts (physics), Dagoberto Gilb (English), Diana Gonzales (communication disorders), Patti Giuffre (sociology), Thomas Gustafson (health, physical education and recreation), Lucy Harney (modern languages), Ana Juarez (anthropology), Joey Martin (music), Timothy Mottet (communications studies), Dorinda Noble (social work), Teya Rosenberg (English), Karl Stephan (technology), Linette Watkins (chemistry and biochemistry) and Walter Wright (political science).