Skip to Content

Mathworks Alumni named 2009 Presidential Scholar


Mathworks Alumni Sameer Deshpande was named one of the 2009 Presidential Scholars. This program recognizes the top graduating high school seniors in the nation, selecting two from each state. Sameer participated in Mathworks’ Honors Summer Math Camp (HSMC) as a student for the summers of 2006, 2007, 2008, and as a counselor for 2009.
To date, seven HSMC alumni have been named Presidential Scholars. These include:
  • Sameer Deshpande, 2009
  • Jeff Nanney, 2006
  • Cynthia Chi, 2004
  • Corinna Zygourakis, 2002
  • Samuel Chang, 2001
  • Colette Shen, 2000
  • Amit Kurlekar, 1994
The Presidential Scholars Program is a nonpartisan, public-private partnership designed to recognize and provide leadership development experiences for some of America's most outstanding graduating high-school seniors. It is not a scholarship program, but it is one of the Nation's highest honors for high school students. The 141 students named annually as Presidential Scholars represent excellence in education and the promise of greatness in young people.
The Honors Summer Math Camp is the flagship program of Mathworks, with 75 students and counselors participating each summer in an intensive mathematics program. The HSMC has been recognized by the American Math Society Epsilon Fund as one of the top mathematics programs in the country with 8 grants. Mathworks was selected by Texas Governor Rick Perry as one of five programs in Texas to receive the 2001 Texas Higher Education Star Award for Closing the Gaps, in recognition of its success in raising the mathematics level for all students, particularly underserved groups.