Skip to Content

Faculty & Staff Awards

Nominations close on Friday, April 1, 2022 at 5pm.

Congratulations to our 2020-2021 Faculty & Staff Award Winners!

John R. Hood Honors Professor of the Year

Dr. Kevin Mooney

Mary Lou Bishop Staff Advisor of the Year

Neal Idais

Stephany Goodbread Faculty Advisor of the Year

Dr. Emily Roehl

Stephany Goodbread Faculty Advisor of the Year

Kyle Patek


John R. Hood Honors Professor of the Year

The John R. Hood Honors Professor of the Year is chosen by honors students and awarded to a professor who has taught an honors class in the fall or spring semester. As we aim to provide a laboratory for innovative teaching that leads to undergraduate research and transformations in students' perceptions, this award is made to professors who have made an impact on honors students.

In 2016 we have named the Honors Professor of the Year award, the John R. Hood Honors Professor of the Year Award.  A beloved professor and friend, John Hood taught in Honors from 2008 to 2015, offering 9 different honors courses such as The Art of Storytelling, Playwriting: A Structured Approach, and Screenwriting, among others. John Hood passed away in July of 2015 after teaching for 7 years in the Honors College, supervising 23 Honors theses, and creating such structures as the SURF grant and TXSTUR. His love of teaching and significant impact on honors students will be remembered with this award.

Mary Lou Bishop Staff Advisor of the Year

Mary Lou Bishop served as administrative assistant in the Honors College from 1985 to 1996 when she retired. She deserves much of the credit for forming the Honors College into a place that welcomes students and makes them feel at home. Since 1996, this award has been given to staff members nominated by honors students for being helpful, outgoing, and good listeners.

Stephany Goodbread Faculty Advisor of the Year

The Stephany Goodbread Faculty Advisor of the Year award recognizes a faculty member who has been particularly helpful to honors students in an advising or mentoring role. Named after the late Stephany Goodbread, the award provides the opportunity for honors students to acknowledge faculty members from across the campus.

Stephany Goodbread served as the first assistant director in the Honors College before retiring in 1993. She helped establish the Honors College as a place where students' academic efforts are recognized and encouraged, where faculty and staff urge students to stretch, risk and find their element. Stephany Goodbread was known for her sense of humor, her compassion and her willingness to spend time with students. She passed away in December 2010.

Past Award Recipients

Expand All Content
  • Jordan Morille, 2018-2019

    Rachel Romero, 2017-2018

    Ron Haas, 2016-2017

    Bob Price, 2015-2016

    Michael Burns, 2015-2016

    Lindy Kosmitis, 2014-2015

    Susan Morey, 2013-2014

    Michael Dickinson, 2012-2013

    Robert Fischer, 2012-2013

    Vicente Lopes, 2011-2012

    Judith Oskam, 2011-2012

    Nancy Wilson, 2011-2012 

    Catherine Hawkins, 2010-2011

    John Hood, 2009-2010

    Steven Beebe, 2009-2010

    Janet Hale, 2008-2009

    Sylvia Crixell, 2007-2008

    Kathleen Peirce, 2006-2007

    James Bell, 2005-2006

    Craig Hanks, 2004-2005

    Audrey McKinney, 2003-2004

    Leticia Flores, 2002-2003

    Margaret Menninger, 2001-2002

    Christopher Frost, 2000-2001

    “Bob” Randolph, 1999-2000

    Steve Wilson, 1999-1998

    Diann A. McCabe, 1999-1998

    William D. Liddle, 1998-1999

    Donald W. Olson, 1995-1996

    Judith A. Laird, 1994-1995

    D. Theron Stimmel, 1994-1995

    Donald W. Olson, 1993-1994

    Theodore T. Hindson, 1993-1994

    Merry K. Fitzpatrick, 1992-1993

    Gregory A. Andrews, 1991-1992

    Kenneth H. Margerison, 1990-1991

    Theodore T. Hindson, 1989-1990

    W.W. Anderson, 1988-1989

    Charles Johnson, 1987-1988

    Robert Walts, 1986-1987

    Daniel Farlow, 1985-1986

    Merry Fitzpatrick, 1984-1985

    Everette Swinney, 1983-1984

    Emmie Craddock, Founding Director, 1967

  • Madelyn Patlan, 2018-2019

    Sara Betts, 2017-2018

    Glynis Chistine, 2016-2017

    Michelle Sotolongo, 2015-2016

    Melanie Liddle, 2014-2015

    Dr. Stella Silva, 2014-2015

    Cassie White, 2013-2014

    Billi London-Gray, 2012-2013

    Melanie Liddle, 2011-2012

    Murel Miller, 2010-2011

    Karl Boysen, 2009-2010

    Lisa Chrans, 2008-2009

    Jan Carmack, 2007-2008

    Brandi Simchak, 2006-2007

    Stacy Rodriguez, 2005-2006

    Lynette B. Bourgeois, 2004-2005

    Diann A. McCabe, 2003-2004

    Ellen Ermis, 2002-2003

    Diann A. McCabe, 2001-2002

    Karen Harrison, 2000-2001

    Yfrain “Rudy” Andrade, 1999-2000

    Ellen V. Ermis, 1998-1999

    Lynne Bourgeois, 1996-1997

    Dorothy Sellars, 1996-1997

  • Dr. Floyd Quinn, 2018-2019

    Dr. Peter Golato, 2017-2018

    Jennifer Devine, 2016-2017

    Maureen Lemke, 2015-2016

    Megan Haynes, 2015-2016

    Dr. Diego Vacaflores, 2014-2015

    Dr. Craig Hanks, 2013-2014

    Prof. Keith Needham, 2012-2013

    Dr. Patti Giuffre, 2011-2012

    Dr. Laura Stroup, 2010-2011

    Prof. Twister Marquiss, 2009-2010

    Prof. Mark Carter, 2008-2009

    Dr. Roseann Mandziuk, 2007-2008

    Dr. Nancy Wilson, 2006-2007

    Dr. Debra Feakes, 2005-2006

    Dr. Dan Lochman, 2004-2005

    Dr. Ronald Brown, 2003-2004

    Dr. Christopher Frost, 2002-2003

    Dr. James McWilliams, 2001-2002

    Dr. Richard Earl, 2000-2001

    Dr. Rich Warms, 1999-2000

    Dr. Susan S. Morrison, 1998-1999

    Prof. Diann A. McCabe, 1997-1998

    Dr. Audrey M. McKinney, 1996-1997

    Dr. Brock J. Brown, 1995-1996

    Ms. Stephany S. Goodbread, 1994