Skip to Content

Transfer Students

Admissions Eligibility

All transfer students should have a GPA of 3.25 or greater. A student must be transferring in with 12 or more hours of recognized college credit to qualify as a transfer student. 
 

What's the Process for Transfer Honors Students?

  • Each application is reviewed twice and every applicant is notified via email and snail-mail to the address on the application, regardless of decision.

  • Applications arrive in high volume - anticipate receiving notification within 2-3 weeks after applying.

  • Applicants can check application status logging back into the application system.

  • Once admitted, you have access to enroll in Honors courses and receive information about events, upcoming opportunities, and important deadlines via your Texas State email. 

Honors Credit for Transfers 

If a transfer student has participated in an honors program previously, the Texas State Honors College will accept two transfer honors classes (up to 7 hours) for any student graduating in the Honors College and up to three transfer honors credits (up to 10 hours) for the minor in Honors Studies. Students who wish to receive transfer Honors credits should meet with an Honors College advisor to review their transcript and plan their classes at Texas State. 

Automatic Admission for Transfer Honors Students

Transfer students who are already a member of an honors program at a college listed below and who have a 3.25 GPA or greater can request automatic admission.  To qualify for automatic admission, the student should complete the Honors College application and ask their current honors program director to email honors@txstate.edu to verify they are members in good standing.  If your program is not listed, please contact us for more information at honors@txstate.edu.

Community College
Community College
Alvin Community College Honors Program
Dr. Ian Baldwin, Honors Program Director ibaldwin@alvincollege.edu 281.756.3623
Community College
Austin Community College Honors Program
Dr. Anne-Marie Thomas, Program Chair athomas2@austincc.edu 512.223.7457
Community College
Brazosport College Honors Program
Prof. Carrie Pritchett, Honors Program Director carrie.pritchett@brazosport.edu 979.230.3538
Community College
Eastfield College Honors Program
Dr. Kim Chandler, Co-Director kimchandler@dcccd.edu 972.860.8388
Community College
El Paso Community College Honors Program
Prof. Patrick Pynes, District Coordinator honorsprogram@epcc.edu 915.831.2331
Community College
Laredo College Honors Program
Prof. Laura L. Ramirez Cruz lramirez@laredo.edu 956.764.5953
Community College
Lone Star Honors College
Dr. Katharine Caruso, Executive Director TheHonorsCollege@LoneStar.edu 281.618.1149
Community College
McLennan Honors College
Dr. John Spano, Director jspano@mclennan.edu 254.299.8912
Community College
Midland College Honors Program
Dr. Terry Gilmour, Director tgilmour@midland.edu 432.685.6811
Community College
North Central Texas College
Prof. Jill Swarner, Coordinator jswarner@nctc.edu 940.668.7731
Community College
Palo Alto College Honors Program
Dr. Thomas MurguĂ­a, Director pac-honors@alamo.edu 210.486.3348
Community College
Richland College Honors Program
Dr. Kathleen Sullivan Stephens kstephens@dcccd.edu 972.761.6840
Community College
San Antonio College Honors Academy Program
Prof. Laurie Lopez Coleman, Coordinator lcoleman@alamo.edu 210.486.1100
Community College
San Jacinto College Honors Program
Dr. Eddie Weller, Director eddie.weller@sjcd.edu 281.929.4614
Community College
Tyler Junior College Honors Program
Dr. David Funk, Director honors@tjc.edu 903.510.2895

If the information for your honors program needs updating or is missing, please click here to submit an update.