Skip to Content

HUB Certification

An aspiring HUB vendor should first set up an appointment to consult with Texas State University's HUB Specialist. The HUB Specialist's role includes but is not limited to:

  • Assisting vendors to become HUB certified.
  • Assisting vendors to understand and fill out HUB Subcontracting Plans
  • Interpreting state rules and serving as a knowledgable expert on HUB compliance.
  • Engaging in consultations with HUB vendors and university departments.

Application Process

To apply for certification as a Historically Underutilized Business (HUB), a vendor must complete a HUB application and submit it to the Texas Procurement and Support Services (TPASS).

Appropriate HUB applications are located on the TPASS website.  Submission address information is provided in each PDF application. Please allow up to 90 days for evaluation of your HUB Certification application. There is no fee associated with HUB certification; it is free!

Eligibility Requirements

Eligibility requirements for a business to become a HUB certified vendor:

  • Owner must be a U.S. Citizen.
  • Owner must be a Texas Resident.
  • Principal place of business must be located in the State of Texas.
  • Owner must have a proportionate interest and demonstrate active participation in the control,   
        operations, and management of the entity's affairs.
  • Business must be at least 51% owned by one or more persons who are members of the following
  • American Women Women of any ethnicity, except those specified above.In addition, the eligible group member must exercise control over the daily affairs of the business and be active in routine management and administration of the business.
    Asian Pacific Americans Persons whose origins are from Japan, China, Taiwan, Korea, Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia, the Philippines, Samoa, Guam, the U.S. Territories of the Pacific, or the Northern Marianas; and Subcontinent Asian Americans which includes persons who origins are from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Bhutan, or Nepal.
    Black Americans All persons having origins of Black racial groups of Africa.
    Hispanic Americans All persons of Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban, Central or South America, or other Spanish/Portuguese culture or origin.
    Native Americans

    Persons who are American Indians, Eskimos, Aleuts, or Native Hawaiians.

    Service Disabled Veterans Defined by 38 United States Code (U.S.C.), Section 101(2) as persons who have a service-connected disability and have a disability rating of 20% or more. Required documents:  DD214 (Military Discharge)  and Disability Rating Letter issued by the Department of Veterans Affairs.

Benefits of HUB Certification

  • Certification is free of charge.
  • Certification is valid for 4 years, provided that business continues to meet the eligibility requirements.
  • Enables your business to be listed on TPASS's HUB Directory. State agencies use the HUB Directory in
        conjunction with the Centralized Master Bidder's List (CMBL) to solicit bids from certified HUBs.
  • Increased exposure to the general public, as well as, other entities who have a supplier diversity program
        and are searching for minority and woman-owned businesses.