Skip to Content

Environment & Sustainability Committee


Works to increase communication and create synergy around environmental and sustainability efforts of administrators, staff, faculty, and students by monitoring, coordinating and communicating with departments and relevant committees and student organizations. Its goals are to promote and publicize best practices, increase sustainability across the university, and strengthen Texas State's stewardship of our environment. The committee meets twice monthly during long semesters.

The Environment and Sustainability Committee's annual the Green Cat Challenge Awards honor and recognize the importance of the environment and best sustainable practices as an important university goal. This year's winners were announced at the Spring Lake Earth Day Festival at the Meadows Center on April 20, 2019:

Individual Student: Emma Parsley, Engineering Technology Senior
Student Group: Bobcat Blend
Staff Organization: Registrar's Office
Individual Faculty Member: Tina Cade, Agriculture
Honorary Mention: Tom Shewan, Facilities

2019 - 2020 Members

Environment & Sustainability Committee College Term Exp Email
Ms. Portia Gottschall Applied Arts 2022
Dr. Leyuan You Business 2021
Dr. Michelle Forsythe Education 2022
Ms. Hannah Thornton At Large (Applied Arts) 2020
Dr. Lindsay Timmerman Fine Arts & Communication 2021
Dr. Paula Stigler Health Professions 2022
Dr. Rebecca Bell-Metereau, Chair Liberal Arts 2021
Dr. Colleen Myles Liberal Arts 2021
Ms. Laura Waugh Library 2022
TBN Science & Engineering 2021  
Ms. Stephanie Daniels Staff Council 2020