Skip to Content

2021 Graduations

Texas State University’s 
William P. Hobby Center for Public Service
Virtual Certified Public Manager® (CPM) Program Graduation
June 17, 2021

61 New Texas CPM Graduates Recognized

By Sue Breland

Texas State University’s William P. Hobby Center for Public Service graduated sixty-one new Texas Certified Public Managers® in a virtual graduation ceremony over Zoom on June 17, 2021.  While living through a time of global pandemic, Texas CPM students showed tremendous tenacity in attending online classes and completing course work, while serving the needs of their communities as professionals and meeting the challenges faced by their own families. 

The CPM graduates were located in the Arlington, Edinburg, Houston, Nacogdoches, Round Rock, and San Marcos areas of Texas. The graduates participated in CPM Programs offered by Texas State University, Stephen F. Austin University, University of Houston, and the University of Texas Rio Grande Valley.

We were honored to have Plano City Manager, Mark Israelson, bring the Graduation address. Mr. Israelson brought encouraging words of gratitude and fortitude for the graduates as they apply their education to their work of serving the public good. Staying committed to personal and professional development will make the individual and our profession so much better. He additionally stressed the value of curiosity as a guiding principle in public service, to ask great questions and to be willing to be uncomfortable as you are open to learning more.

You can watch the Graduation ceremony including Mr. Israelson’s address, here.

The June 2021 Graduates are listed below by University and CPM Program Location

Texas State University, Arlington, Texas CPM Program. Remarks by James Earp CPM., Director
Jeffrey C. Arnswald, Ryan Michael Arthur,  Jessica Baca, Jason Barber, Thad Chambers,  Leslie Karen Cloer, Andrea Cockrell, Krystal Ann Crump,  Stacy Garcia, Herb M. Gilliland, Clayton Gray, Eva Sebestyén Gregory, Dustin Henslee, Rashad J. Jackson, Tommy A. Ludwig, Gumaro Martinez, David Orr, Marc J. Pate, Linda Rhodes, Gregory W. Rushin, Shannon S. Stephens, Gincy Thoppil, Tommy Daryl Uptmore, Stoney Mike Ward, Jr. and Bradley J. Wilcox

Texas State University, Round Rock, Texas CPM Program. Remarks by Dr. Miha Vindis and Marilyn K. Balanoff, Directors
Kenneth J. D'Alfonso and  Yanira I. Oliveras

Texas State University, San Marcos, Texas CPM Program. Remarks by Sue Breland, CPM., Director 
Mark Hanson, Melinda Pearl Hodges and Chris Ulibarri

Stephen F. Austin State University, Nacogdoches, Texas CPM Program. Remarks by Dr. Rick Herzog, Director
Jennifer Billings, Michael Shane Burleigh, Sam Durham, Benny Yazdanpanahi and Rudy Zepeda

University of Houston, Houston, Texas. Remarks by Renee Cross and Chelsea O’Hara, Directors 
Ronald Richard Burton, Chaise Cary, Heather Cherry, Jeremy Edge, Kirk Jackson, LaTia Jutan, Lindsay Koskiniemi, Michael Kramm, Timothy Lancon, Kelly Lathrem, Merid Lopez, Sandra Lopez, John Naron, Gary Ratliff, Kathie Reyer, Dalton Rice, Jaime Sherill, Tommy Tarver, Jason Tovar, Stephen Vavrecka, Charlene Warren, Caitlin Weinheimer and Sloan Witter

University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, Edinburg, Texas CPM Program. Remarks by John Milford, Director
Reynaldo Cano, Gabriel Ramirez and Angel Sanchez

Congratulations to all these Certified Public Manager® graduates!

For more information, contact Dr. Howard R. Balanoff, the William P. Hobby Professor of Public Service at Texas State University. He is also the Director of the Texas Certified Public Manager® (CPM) Program and can be reached at or 512/245-345. Additional information about the William P. Hobby Center for Public Service and the Texas Certified Public Manager® (CPM) Program can be found at