Skip to Content

2013 Graduations



59 CPM Graduates from 5 Texas Universities Recognized
By: Sue Breland, CPM Program Faculty


On December 9, 2013 the Texas Certified Managers Program graduated 59 new CPMs, adding to more than twelve hundred CPM alumni of the Texas program. The graduation ceremony was held at the State Capitol in Austin. University programs participating in this ceremony included Sam Houston State University, Stephen F. Austin State University, Texas State University, the University of Houston, and the University of Texas Pan American (see the list of graduates below).

Unusually cold and icy weather across the northern half of the state, hampered the attendance of some graduates and program directors, however, Graduation Speaker  Charmelle Garrett, City Manager of Victoria, traveled to the Capitol to make a congratulatory address.  Ms. Garrett has the distinction of being a graduate of the first Texas CPM class seventeen years ago, which was hosted by then Governor George W. Bush.

With her congratulations, Ms. Garrett offered twelve points of advice for graduates which included:

  • Find what you are passionate about – when you find that passion, it will carry you through difficult times.
  • You cannot please everyone  - so let it go. Don’t take negative comments personally,  learn from what you can and move on.  The large majority of people in your community are happy with the job you are doing, don’t let a few critics pull you down.
  • Find a mentor – don’t wait for someone to ask you.  Continue life-long learning.
  • Be active with government association networks.
  • Attend City Council meetings whether you are required to do so or not.
  • Don’t lead with “no” – it can be easier to say “no” than to be flexible and find a mutually agreeable answer, but take the risk.
  • Take time off and appreciate family support.
  • Develop a sense of humor!

In addition to the presentation of CPM diplomas, Danny Presley was honored with the George C. Askew Award for outstanding Applied Practicum Project in Texas.  Congratulations Danny on this achievement.

December 2013 Graduates included (by program location)

Sam Houston State University, Houston:
Steve Gordon, Chastity Ringo, Johnny L. Ross

Stephen F. Austin State University, Nacogdoches:
Margie N. Ainsworth, Aaron J. Friar, Clint Hardeman, Alaina DeAnne Helton, Sheila K. Johnson, Thomas Kerss, Ted Lovett, Julie H. Seymore, Jeffrey L. Thompson

Texas State University, Arlington:
Melinda Brittain, Jean Dwinnell, Russell J. Greene, Darren R. Groth, Terry Hughes, Kellye Mazzoli, Wendle D. Medford, Sakura Moten-Dedrick, Bernie D. Parker, Jr.,  Kristen M. Roberts, Wayne Kerry Snell Jr.,  Debra L. Wallace, Thomas W. Williams

Texas State University, San Marcos:
Julia P. Bradley, Yvonne Griffin, Annetta R. Keys, Kimberly R. Lemon, Brittany Lyn McCullar , Joshua D. Smith, Heather Thomas

Texas State University, Round Rock:
Taner Drake, John Charles Michael, Elizabeth Sanders Sagert, Marie Sue Sibley, James M. Williams, Jr.,  Fred G. Yost III

The University of Houston, Houston:
Byron Frankland, Christopher M. Mainka, Sara Wishahy

The University of Texas Pan American, Edinburg:

Jesus Aguirre, Steven Edward Cruz II, Heriberto De Leon, Yesenia Ennis, Ricardo Enriquez, Erika Gomez, Rafael Gomez , Jose G. Gonzalez, Andres Guzman Jr., Earl D. Lane, Belinda G. Madrigal, Jesus Ozuna, Reynaldo Rodriguez, Shawn Michael  Snider, Christopher Daniel Torres, Ricardo Trevino, Mayra Valdez-Lindenmuth, Mario D. Vela

Graduation Speaker Charmelle Garrett, City Manager of Victoria

Texas State University’s
William P. Hobby Center for Public Service
Conducts Certified Public Manager (CPM) Program Graduation
At the Texas Capitol
June 10, 2013

33 New CPM Graduates Recognized

Dr. Howard R. Balanoff


Texas State University’s William P. Hobby Center for Public Service graduated thirty-three new Texas Certified Public Managers at the Texas State Capitol on Monday June 10, 2013. The CPM graduates and their families came from CPM Programs at the following locations: Round Rock, Arlington, Houston, Nacogdoches, and Edinburg Texas. The graduates participated in CPM Programs offered by the following universities, Texas State, Stephen F. Austin, Sam Houston, The University of Houston and the University of Texas at Pan American.


The CPM graduation speaker, Dr. Dee Ellis, Executive Director of the Texas Health Commission spoke about the need for public service and congratulated the graduates on achieving their CPM certification and choosing the fulfilling profession of public service. Dr. Ellis graduated from Veterinarian School at Texas A&M University and received his Master’s Degree in Public Administration (MPA) degree from Texas State University.

The June 2013 Graduates are listed below by University and CPM Program Location

Texas State University Round Rock:
Monique Adams, Monica A. Flores-Rojo, Geronimo Aguirre, Indra Hernandez, Stephanie L. Homes, Karen Denise Inglis, Michele R. Lafferty, Rose Marie Pagel, Laura L. Poldrack, Michel Weaver

Texas State University Arlington:
Stuart K. Blasingame, Gerry Boren, Katia Dianne Boykin, Kurt Hansen, Kim McAdams Lenoir

Sam Houston State University, Houston:
Arturo Carrillo, Tina M. Cordova, Ryan D. Erwin, Laura J. Ford, Adele M. Gottlieb, Steven T. Guillory, Jr., Sarah Mason, Helvia L. Quinones, Raymond L. Ramdero, Toya Castillo Ramirez, Maria Isabel Tejeira Troitino, Edward Zilton, Jr.,

University of Houston, Houston:
Raphael Brown, Darren W. Chambers, Rhonda Daugherty, Julie LaFleur Fox

Stephen F. Austin State University:
Pamela Hardy Curbow

University of Texas at Pan American:
Jessie C. Benavidez, Jr.

Dr. Howard R. Balanoff is the William P. Hobby Professor of Public Service at Texas State University. He is also the Director of the Texas Certified Public Manager (CPM) Program. He can be reached at or 512/245-345. Additional information about the William P. Hobby Center for Public Service and the Texas Certified Public Manager (CPM) Program can be found at


Dee Ellis, DVM,MPA, Executive Director/State Veterinarian, Texas Animal Health Commission