Skip to Content

Faculty

Core doctoral faculty are listed below. These faculty can serve as dissertation advisors for Ph.D. students; please contact them via email to see if they are accepting students for the upcoming academic year. Other anthropology faculty may serve as dissertation committee members.

Archaeology

C. Britt Bousman

hunter-gatherer foraging and technology, geoarchaeology

cb26@txstate.edu

J. David Kilby

Pleistocene foragers, Southwest prehistory, lithic technology, geoarchaeology

david.kilby@txstate.edu

Carolyn Boyd

prehistoric art and ritual, hunter-gatherer archaeology

cb55@txstate.edu

F. Kent Reilly

Mesoamerican civilization, religion, art and symbols

fr04@txstate.edu

Christina Conlee

dynamics of complex societies, foundations and relations of power

cconlee@txstate.edu

Biological Anthropology

Michelle D. Hamilton

forensic and dental anthropology, paleopathology

mh69@txstate.edu

M. Kate Spradley

forensic anthropology, identification methods, migration

mks@txstate.edu

Nicholas Herrmann

skeletal biology, eastern Mediterranean bioarchaeology

nph16@txstate.edu

Daniel Wescott

forensic anthropology, bone biomechanics

dwescott@txstate.edu

Jill Pruetz

primatology, behavioral ecology, conservation

pruetz@txstate.edu

Cultural Anthropology

Emily Brunson

medical anthropology, healthcare, public health

ebrunson@txstate.edu

Nicole Taylor

youth and social media, childhood obesity and body image, adolescent and emerging adult health

ntaylor@txstate.edu