Skip to Content

Points of Pride

Beautiful Campuses

San Marcos

Stroll down the hill from the majestic spires of Old Main to the crystal-clear waters of the San Marcos River within minutes, as you explore the most beautiful university campus in Texas.

Round Rock

Located on a scenic 101 acres just north of Austin, our Round Rock Campus is rapidly growing, with new facilities under construction and planned for the near future.

World-Class Research

National Recognition

  • Texas State is the only university in Texas to have graduated a U.S. president: Lyndon B. Johnson, class of 1930.
  • Students from Texas State University have been selected for National Science Foundation (NSF) graduate research fellowships, which are awarded to graduate or incoming graduate students in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.
  • Texas State awards more bachelor's degrees to Hispanic students than 97 percent of public colleges and universities in the U.S.

Academic Rigor

  • Texas State has the sixth-highest graduation rate of public universities in the state.
  • Our Honors College offers small, stimulating classes taught by master teacher-scholars who employ innovative teaching methods.
  • The annual Undergraduate Research Conference provides an opportunity for undergraduate students from different colleges and disciplines to share their research with the academic community.
  • The International Research Conference is an opportunity for graduate students from various fields to present their original research and receive feedback from experienced faculty members.

New and Innovative Programs

Superior Graduate Programs

Award-Winning Professors

  • Texas State has had 22 faculty members honored as Piper Professors for their superior teaching. The most recent honoree was Debra Feakes from the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry.
  • Oleg Komogortsev, an associate professor in the Department of Computer Science, was honored with a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers.
  • Steven Beebe, a Regents’ Professor and Distinguished Professor of Communication Studies, discovered an unpublished and unknown poem by C.S. Lewis.

Stellar Students

Competitive Athletes

  • Our Bobcats are part of the Sun Belt Conference and the Football Bowl Subdivision, the highest level of NCAA Division I competition.
  • Since 2000, Texas State has won conference championships in baseball, football, volleyball, men’s track and field, soccer, women’s track and field, women’s basketball, women’s golf and softball.

Outstanding Student Organizations

Unique Campus Amenities

  • The Meadows Center for Water and the Environment is home to our campus’ most beautiful natural feature — the crystal-clear springs that feed the San Marcos River. The river meanders through campus and San Marcos and provides a home to eight endangered species.
  • The 3,485-acre Freeman Center, bequeathed to the university by Harry Freeman, is used by our students for farm, ranch, game management, educational and experimental purposes.
  • Among the many projects of the Center for Texas Music History are the Journal of Texas Music History, the Handbook of Texas Music and Travelin’ Texas CDs, Volumes 1, 2, and 3.
  • The Wittliff Collections, housed in Texas State’s Alkek Library, include the Southwestern Writers Collection, the Southwestern & Mexican Photography Collection, and the Lonesome Dove Collection.
  • The Katherine Anne Porter Literary Center serves as a writer’s residence and site for lectures and seminars by Texas State’s master of fine arts in creative writing program.
  • The L.D. Clark and LaVerne Harrell Clark Literary Endowment provides a writers’ retreat in Smithville. Writers-in-residence are chosen from among students in the master of fine arts program in creative writing.
  • The Undergraduate Academic Center provides personal attention and guidance for undergraduate students. Featuring the PACE Center for freshman advising, the center improves students’ success.

Distinguished Alumni

  • Lyndon Baines Johnson, 1930, 36th president of the United States
  • Roy F. Mitte, 1953 and 1956, founder of Financial Industries Corporation, a group of national insurance companies
  • Tomás Rivera, 1958 and 1964, prominent author and former chancellor of the University of California-Riverside
  • Gary V. Woods, 1965, president and CEO of McCombs Enterprises; former president of San Antonio Spurs, Denver Nuggets and Minnesota Vikings
  • Marilyn Nolen, 1966, member, American Volleyball Coaches Association Hall of Fame
  • Powers Boothe, 1970, Emmy Award-winning actor
  • Heloise (Ponce Cruse), 1974, syndicated columnist and author
  • Thomas Carter, 1974, three-time Emmy Award-winning director
  • John Sharp, 1976, former Texas comptroller of public accounts
  • T. Paul Bulmahn, 1978, founder and CEO of ATP Oil & Gas Corporation, an offshore development and production company
  • George Strait, 1979, Grammy-nominated music artist and member of the Country Music Hall of Fame
  • F. Ann Millner, 1981, president, Weber State University
  • Charles Austin, 1991, Olympic gold medalist
  • Nina Vaca, 1994, two-time Hispanic Businesswoman of the Year
  • Jeff Foster, 2009, veteran center for Indiana Pacers