Texas State University Logo

Join the Conversation

adjust type sizemake font smallermake font largerreset font size

Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee

Dr. Michelle Lane, Associate Professor, Family and Consumer Sciences, Chair

Dr. Michael Forstner, Professor, Biology
Dr. Caitlin Gabor, Professor, Biology
Dr. Clay Green, Assistant Professor, Biology
Mr. Justin McNulty, Non-affiliated member
Dr. Glenn Pape, Veterinarian
Dr. Hardin Rahe, Professor, Agriculture
Dr. Ty Schepis, Assistant Professor, Psychology
Dr. Thomas R. Simpson, Associate Professor, Biology
Ms. Shirley Smith, Public, Non-scientific member: Non-affiliated
Dr. Kate Spradley, Assistant Professor, Anthropology

Ex Officio:
Dr. Michael Blanda, Associate Vice President, Research and Federal Relations (T)

Reviews, establishes, and standardizes procedures and regulations for research or teaching activities involving living vertebrate animals. This includes, but is not limited to, the procurement, maintenance, handling and disposal of all live vertebrate animals for teaching and/or research purposes by Texas State University. The committee is charged with assuring that Texas State is in compliance with regulations established by the federal government under the Animal Welfare Act, whether or not federal funding is involved, and makes recommendations to the Associate Vice President for Research and Director of Federal Relations.