Skip to Content

2017 Summer Dialogues On Activism


8:30am – Coffee

9:00 – 10:30 First Dialogue

10:45 – 12:15 Second Dialogue


June 9 on Education

Dialogue 1: Public Education

Dr. Miguel A. Guajardo, Education and CommunityLeadership Program, Texas State

Dr. Libby Doggett, former Deputy Assistant Secretary for Policy and Early Learning at the U.S. Department of Education

Kayla Heyward, MBA, Principal, John H. Wood Charter District, Hays Campus

Anne Halsey, Vice President SMCISD Board of Trustees

Dialogue 2: School-to-Prison Pipeline

Kathy Martinez-Prather, Director Texas School Safety Center, Texas State

Rima Kaikhah, Rebound Disciplinary Alternative Education Program, San Marcos CISD

Wayne Thompson, Transitional Coordinator, Hays County Juvenile Center

Dr. Hilary Lustick, Counseling, Leadership, Adult Ed., Texas State

June 16 on Justice

Dialogue 1: Restorative Justice

Shannon FitzPatrick, Attorney for Students, Texas State

Chase Stapp,San Marcos Police Chief

Carlos “Tim” Anderson, San Juan Lutheran, Austin

Karen Muñoz, Fair Chance

Walter A. Wright, Legal Studies Program, Texas State

Dialogue 2: DREAMers

James C. Harrington, Human Rights Attorney, Founder and Director Emeritus, Texas Civil Rights Project

Juan Belman, DREAMer Activist

Michelle Sotolongo, Student Community of Progressive Empowerment (SCOPE), Texas State

June 23 on Community

Dialogue 1: Sanctuary and Refugees

Jo Ann Carson, Texas State Philosophy Dialogue Series

Rev. Karl Brown, former Director, United Campus Ministry

Alejandro Caceres, Grassroots Leadership

Dr. Karen Brown, Distinguished Professor of Social Work Emerita, Texas State

Holly Wise, VoiceBox Media, Solutions Journalism Network, School of Journalism and Mass Comm., Texas State

Dialogue 2: Fight for $15

Bradley Crowder, Austin Fight for $15

Josh Perez, San Marcos Fight for $15

Taylor Jones, Texas State Employees Union (TSEU)

Ed Mihalkanin, San Marcos City Council, Place 3