Skip to Content

Texas State’s Weill receives Fulbright grant to work with First Nations

Date of Release: 05/10/2006

SAN MARCOS—Susan Weill, an assistant professor in the School of Journalism and Mass Communications at Texas State University-San Marcos, has been selected for a Fulbright Senior Specialist project with First Nations in Canada.

Weill will work with First Nations writers and reporters in Canada through Athabasca University in Edmonton, Alberta in June and July of this year. She will collaborate with editors and reporters at Windspeaker, “Canada’s Aboriginal News Source.” She will also conduct workshops with writers at the Aboriginal Multi-Media Society and First Nations’ groups throughout Alberta.

“I’ve an avid reader of First Nations’ histories, so I am particularly honored by this Fulbright assignment,” Weill said.

This will be Weill’s second Fulbright Senior Specialist project. In July 2005, Weill taught journalism classes at the Caribbean Institute of Media and Communication at the University of the West Indies in Kingston, Jamaica. She also conducted media writing seminars in conjunction with a CARIMAC and USAID Civil Society Advocacy Communication Workshop. Her seminars addressed the needs of volunteers who write press releases for non-governmental agencies such as domestic violence shelters and children’s advocacy programs.

“Except for hurricanes Dennis and Emily hitting the island the first three weeks I was there, it was a wonderful experience,” Weill said. “And even the experience of watching the hurricanes come through was interesting, if not a bit terrifying.”

The Fulbright program, America’s flagship international educational exchange activity, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Over its 59 years of existence, thousands of U.S. faculty and professionals have studied, taught or done research abroad, and thousands of their counterparts from other countries have engaged in similar activities in the United States.

Award recipients are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement and because of demonstrated leadership potential in their fields.