Skip to Content

Texas State announces faculty promotions, tenure

Date of Release: 05/23/2006

SAN MARCOS — Twenty-three faculty members have been promoted and fourteen have been awarded tenure at Texas State University-San Marcos.

The promotions and tenure actions have been approved by the Texas State University System Board of Regents and are effective Sept. 1.

Promoted from associate professor to professor (with academic department in parentheses) were T. Jaime Chahin (occupational education), Linda Homeyer (educational administration and psychological services), Thomas Keller (mathematics), Vicente Lopes (biology), Debbie McAlister (marketing), Walter Rast (biology), Donald Sanders (finance and economics), Katherine Selber (social work), Steven Thompson (accounting) and John Walker (health, physical education and recreation).

Promoted from assistant professor to associate professor were Charles Britt Bousman (anthropology), Jeffrey Davis (art and design), Jeffrey Dell (art and design), Maria Daniela Ferrero (mathematics), Mark Fonstad (geography), Antonio Gragera (modern languages), Lucy Harney (modern languages), Mary Hoffman (communication studies), Margaret Menninger (history), Nico Schuler (music), Jaymeen Shah (computer information systems and quantitative methods), Gregory Spencer (physics) and Susan Weill (journalism and mass communication).

Awarded tenure were Bousman, Davis, Dell, Ferrero, Fonstad, Gragera, Hoffman, Menninger, Schuler, Shah, Jian Shen (mathematics), Spencer, Thompson and Weill.