Skip to Content

Christopher Frost named 2006 Piper Professor

Date of Release: 05/03/2006

SAN MARCOS—Christopher J. Frost, Texas State University-San Marcos Department of Psychology faculty member and director of the university’s Mitte Honors Program, has been named Piper Professor for 2006 by the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation.

Frost was named Piper Professor on May 1 in honor of his dedication and service to teaching at the collegiate level, joining 14 other professors to represent 15 universities nationwide. Piper Foundation honorees are chosen by committee members who look for well-rounded, outgoing teachers, devoted to their profession and have made a special impact on their students and the community.

“As I reflect on my own years as a student, I remember a handful of teachers who were masters at the art of teaching. Although I scarcely recognized it at the time, these gifted individuals shaped me in ways far beyond the classroom, and they showed me an ideal worthy enough to pursue,” Frost said. “Now, as a teacher, I strive to inspire my students, just as my mentors inspired me.”

In addition to being named a Piper Professor, Frost also has received numerous accolades, including the Presidential Award for Excellence in Teaching, the Alumni Association Teaching Award of Honor, the Honors Professor of the Year, and a Fulbright Fellowship to Romania).

Frost is a graduate of the university professors program at Boston University, where he studied with Sigmund Koch, professor of psychology and philosophy, and Elie Wiesel, Mellon Professor in the Humanities and Nobel Laureate. In addition to his appointment in the Department of Psychology, Frost directs the university’s endowed Mitte Honors Program, leads the university-wide Common Experience, and directs Study Abroad programs.

Frost is the 6th consecutive Texas State professor and 15th overall to be named a Piper Professor. Other Texas State Piper Professors have been Emmie Craddock, 1962, history; Robert Galvan, 1968, modern languages; Thomas Brasher, 1970, English; Dan Farlow, 1975, political science; Clarence Schultz, 1976, sociology; Henrietta Avent, 1979, health and physical education; Robert Walts, 1982, English; Beverly Chiodo, 1988, computer information systems and administrative sciences; Barbara Hatcher, 1993, curriculum and instruction; Michael John Hennessy, 2001, English; Nancy Fehl Chavkin, 2002, social work; Paul Nathan Cohen, 2003, English; James David Bell, 2004, business; and Byron Dale Augustin, 2005, geography.