Skip to Content

New SWT department chairs

Date of release: 08/31/00

SAN MARCOS, TEXAS — SWT would like to welcome several new department chairs and acting chairs for the 2000-2001 school year.

Dr. Erik Nielsen will serve as acting chair of the Department of Art and Design, and Dr. Jana Minifie is the new acting chair of marketing. Dr. Joe Humprhey will continue to serve the Department of Accounting as acting chair for the fall semester. Dr. Robert Rutledge, from Monmouth University in New Jersey, will join SWT in the Spring as the chair of the department.

Dr. Gene Bourgeois will serve as the new chair of the Department of History, and Dr. Jim Irvin is the new chair of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry.

Dr. Robert Pankey, from Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, is the new chair in Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance.

Dr. Gene Payne is the new chair of Management and comes to SWT from the FIC Corporation in Austin.

Col. Charles Cohoon, previously stationed at Randolph Air Force Base in San Antonio, is the new chair of the Department of Aerospace Studies.