Skip to Content

Mathworks Announces Its 2013 PMWC Team To Compete In Hong Kong

December 17, 2012 - San Marcos, TX
In late October, more than 480 middle school students across the state participated in the Mathworks Math Contest (MMC).  This annual math contest provides a free opportunity for students to develop their creative problem-solving skills, challenge themselves, and have fun doing math they would not usually experience in classrooms.  This 15-question test takes two hours and includes free response questions that are scored by work shown in addition to simply achieving a correct answer.
From the hundreds of students who took the test, four have now been chosen to attend the residential Junior Summer Math Camp (JSMC) in June, and then travel to Hong Kong in July to compete in the international Primary Math World Contest (PMWC). This will be the 11th time that Mathworks is fielding a team to compete in the PWMC.  In 10 years of participation, the Mathworks team has been recognized as the top non-Asian team 7 times, winning the "Po Leung Kuk" Cup.  In 2012, the team achieved a perfect score on the team portion of the PMWC.  The 2013 team members are:
  • Alex Liu (7th grader, Houston, The Village School)
  • Linda Yu (7th grader, Houston, St. John's School)
  • Shreya Thipireddy (7th grader, Houston, Harmony School of Excellence)
  • Vinjai Vale (7th grader, Plano, homeschool)
About Mathworks
Mathworks is a center for mathematics education at Texas State University – San Marcos with core programs of Summer Math Camps, Teacher Training, and Curriculum Development. The Mathworks Junior Summer Math Camp and Honors Summer Math Camp are nationally recognized as two of the premier summer programs in the country.  For more information about Mathworks, see
About the PMWC
The Po Leung Kuk Primary Mathematics World Contest is organized by Po Leung Kuk and co-organized by the Hong Kong Institute of Education.

The contest aims to enhance the primary school students’ interest in mathematics, and to provide a cultural and academic exchange opportunity for the students. The most recent contest was held from 16-20 July 2012 with a total of 44 participating teams from Australia, Bulgaria, China, India, Indonesia, Korea, Macau, Malaysia, Mongolia, Taiwan, the Philippines, Russia, Singapore, South Africa, Thailand, the United States and Hong Kong.