The Center for International Studies


The Center for International Studies was established in 1984 when Dr. Dennis Dunn was named its first director. The Bachelor of Arts in International Studies (BAIS), previously housed through the Political Science department, was reorganized to the majors represented today:  International Relations and International Studies with foci in International Business, Travel and Tourism, Russian/East European Studies, Asian Studies, European Studies, Interamerican Studies, and Middle East/African Studies.

The Center also offes a certificate in Interamerican Studies and a certificate in Southeast Asian studies. The Master of Arts with the thesis option was established in 2001 and a non-thesis option was added in 2006.

In 2008, two international student/faculty exchange programs were developed through the generosity of donors: The Helen Ratliff Cleaves Memorial Fellowship (Honduras) and The Ken and Verena Wilson Fellowship (Cambodia). Every year, the Center sponsors students and/or faculty to work and study abroad under memorandums of understanding between Texas State and educational institutions in Honduras and Cambodia.

In 2009, Dr. Dunn was awarded a grant from the U. S. Department of Education to fund research and curriculum development in Southeast Asian Studies, a Chinese instructor at Texas State, and for a certificate in Southeast Asian Studies and future study abroad and language immersion programs in Cambodia and China.

In 2015, the Center relocated from its original location in Lamapasas Hall to Derrick Hall, Suite 100.