Texas State University Logo
adjust type sizemake font smallermake font largerreset font size

Sustaining the Moment: Reflections of Art and Nature

Who & What: Juilliard Rejoins Texas State for a Fifth Annual Common Experience in the Arts

Texas State alumnus, graduate in the Honors College, and award-winning composer, pianist, and Juilliard faculty member, Dr. Wayne Oquin, returned to direct eighteen of Juilliard School's best musicians, dancers, and actors in the fifth annual collaboration with performers of Texas State University.  Through dance, drama and music, the concert, "Sustaining the Moment: Reflections of Art and Nature", provided an artistic response to the Common Experience theme of sustainability.

This year’s performance featured Charles Ives’ Concord Sonata performed by pianist and Juilliard faculty member Dr. Aaron Wunsch, Alban Berg’s "Lyric Suite" played by the Afiara String Quartet, and Frederic Rzewski's "To the Earth" featuring percussionist Michael Truesdell.  Along with Watersong, Oquin premiered a flute concerto composed for the concert. Excerpts from writer Janisse Ray's Ecology of a Cracker Childhood, were featured as well.  A reception for the Juilliard guests and Janisse Ray was held in the Honors Coffee Forum.  Sponsored by the Common Experience, this concert was free and open to the public.

Where: Reception - Honors Coffee Forum
             Concert - Evans Auditorium

When: Thursday, March 10
           Reception - 3:00 - 5:00 pm
           Concert - 7:30 pm


Photos of the Event

Video: 2010 Juilliard performance at Texas State directed and produced by Wayne Oquin.  It features Anthony Farrer's dance routine with percussion. The video was filmed and edited by API Productions.

Play Video