Skip to Content

Transfer Students

Admissions Eligibility

All transfer students should have a GPA of 3.25 or greater. They are also required to submit the transfer student online application. A student must be transferring in with 12 or more hours of recognized college credit to qualify as a transfer student. 
 

Honors Credit for Transfers 

If a transfer student has participated in an honors program previously, the Texas State Honors College will accept two transfer honors classes (up to 7 hours) for any student graduating in the Honors College and up to three transfer honors credits (up to 10 hours) for the minor in Honors Studies. Students who wish to receive transfer Honors credits should meet with an Honors College advisor to review their transcript and plan their classes at Texas State.


Automatic Admission for Transfer Honors Students

Transfer students who are already a member of an honors program at a college listed below and who have a 3.25 GPA or greater can request automatic admission.  To qualify for automatic admission, the student should complete the the transfer student online application and ask their current honors program director to email honors@txstate.edu to verify they are members in good standing.  If your program is not listed, please contact us for more information at honors@txstate.edu.

Junior College Contact Name Contact Email Contact Number
Austin Community College Honors Program Roy Ruane, Program Coordinator rruane@austincc.edu 512.223.6064
Eastfield College Honors Program Dr. Kim Chandler, Co-Director kimchandler@dcccd.edu 972.860.8388
Lone Star Honors College Dr. Katharine Caruso, Executive Director TheHonorsCollege@LoneStar.edu 281.618.1149
McLennan Honors College Dr. Linda Dulin, Director ldulin@mclennan.edu 254.299.8912
Midland College Honors Program Dr. Paula Marshall-Gray, Director pgray@midland.edu 432.685.6811
North Central Texas College Honors Studies Dr. Rochelle Gregory, Coordinator rgregory@nctc.edu  
Northeast Lakeview College Honors Program Stephanie Vasquez, M.Ed., Director of Special Projects svasquez117@alamo.edu 210.486.5006
San Antonio College Honors Academy Dr. Jonathan Lee, Coordinator jlee@alamo.edu 210.486.1097
San Jacinto College Honors Program Dr. Eddie Weller, Director eddie.weller@sjcd.edu 281.929.4614
Tyler Junior College Honors Program T.J. McLemore, Director honors@tjc.edu 903.510.2895