TABC GUIDELINES FOR SERVING WINE AND BEER
THE FOLLOWING GUIDELINES (SUMMARY) ARE ENFORCED BY THE TEXAS ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE COMMISSION:
1. No one under 21 years of age may purchase or be given alcoholic beverages by sponsor or sponsor's employees. No one under 21 years of age may consume alcoholic beverages on sponsor's premises unless they are in visible presence of their adult parents, legal age spouse, or court-appointed guardian. Only a valid driver's license or identification card issued by the Department of Public Safety containing a description consistent with the person presenting it are acceptable forms of identification.
2. Sponsor may not sell, serve, or deliver an alcoholic beverage to an intoxicated person.
3. At the first sign of an argument or trouble between any of sponsor's customers, they should be asked to leave the premises and, if necessary, sponsor should call the police.
4. Any authorized representative of the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission or any other peace officer has the right and authority to enter sponsor's premises and make an inspection of sponsor's entire premises.
5. Sponsor's permit must be displayed in a publicly visible place at all times.
6. The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission has developed Project S.A.V.E. to assist sponsor in efforts to voluntarily comply with the law. Project S.A.V.E. is an audio/visual presentation that lasts approximately one hour. Agents are available to come to sponsor's place of business to help instruct employees concerning the laws that apply to the business. The local district office will have information concerning this project.
7. The Commission approves seller-training programs sponsored by private businesses and issues certificates to individuals who successfully complete such programs. The programs cover the laws concerning the sale or service of alcoholic beverages to minors and intoxicated customers, as well as techniques used to prevent such sales. If the employees of a licensee or permittee are TABC-certified and are not encouraged by their employer to violate the law, the Commission will not take action against the licensee or permittee for an offense committed by an employee with regard to such laws. Contact the local district office or the Seller Training Section at Headquarters for information concerning these schools.