Parking Violation Fees UPPS
Issue No. 9
Effective Date: 06/20/2014
Review: April 1 E2Y
01. POLICY STATEMENT
01.01 This UPPS establishes policies associated with fees and collection of outstanding parking violation fees.
02. PROCEDURES FOR ASSESSING AND COLLECTING FEES
02.01 The assistant director of Parking Services will manage and supervise the collection and recording of fees related to parking violations.
02.02 All vehicles driven or parked on Texas State University property are subject to the laws of the state of Texas and Texas State rules and regulations (see Parking Services Regulations). Fees for parking violations are as follows:
Improper Display of Permit $ 10.00
Expired Meter $ 15.00
Parked in Disabled Zone $300.00
Use of Altered/Forged/Lost/Stolen/
Fraudulent Permits $200.00
Boot Removal $ 75.00
Chronic Offender Fee $150.00
All other violations of University Traffic
and Parking $ 40.00
Each violation alleged on a violation notice is assessed a separate fee.
02.03 Violators must make payment to Parking Services, in person, online, or by mail within 10 working days from the date of issuance of the violation notice. Payments made by regular mail are considered received on the date postmarked by the United States Postal Service. Payments made via campus mail are considered received on the date payment is delivered to Parking Services.
02.04 A late fee of $15.00 shall be assessed for all violation notices that remain unpaid after 10 working days from issuance of the violation notice.
02.05 Students, faculty, and staff may appeal parking violations. Refer to the Parking Services Regulations for proper appeal procedures. The final determination of violation appeal hearings is recorded. Any fee assessed and paid is refunded to violators who receive a non-guilty verdict on their appeals.
03. PROCEDURES FOR HANDLING UNPAID PARKING VIOLATION FEES
03.01 Unpaid charges for violations are recorded in either the name of the student, faculty, or staff person who:
a. bought the permit displayed, or who had previously bought a permit for that vehicle;
b. has previously paid violations on that vehicle;
c. was identified as the owner of the vehicle; or
d. has the same last name and the home address of the registered owner of the vehicle.
1) Faculty and Staff – Texas State employees with one or more unpaid parking violation are not allowed to purchase a parking permit until all fees are paid.
2) Students – Students in whose name unpaid violation charges are recorded are prohibited from registering for class, obtaining a transcript, obtaining a diploma and purchasing a parking permit of any kind.
03.02 Once a semester, Parking Services will send ticket notices to persons with unpaid parking fines. Such notices will state that persons with outstanding fines are prohibited from registering for class, obtaining a transcript, obtaining a diploma and purchasing a parking permit of any kind.
04. REVIEWERS OF THIS UPPS
04.01 Reviewers of this UPPS include the following:
Assistant Director, Parking Services April 1 E2Y
Director, Transportation Services April 1 E2Y
05. CERTIFICATION STATEMENT
This UPPS has been approved by the following individuals in their official capacities and represents Texas State policy and procedure from the date of this document until superseded.
Assistant Director, Parking Services; co-senior reviewer of this UPPS
Interim Director, Transportation Services and Associate Vice President for Finance and Support Services Planning; co-senior reviewer of this UPPS
Vice President for Finance and Support Services