Skip to Content

Kathy Ybañez-Llorente

Kathy Ybañez-Llorente

Kathy Ybañez-Llorente, Ph.D., LPC-S, is an Associate Professor in the Professional Counseling Program at Texas State University. Dr. Ybañez -Llorente received a B.A. in Psychology from Baylor University. She received both her M.S. in Counseling and Ph.D. in Counselor Education from Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi. Dr. Ybañez-Llorente is a Licensed Professional Counselor and Board approved Supervisor in Texas. She is the Practicum/Internship Coordinator for the Professional Counseling Program, and also serves as the Faculty Advisor for the Sigma Tau Sigma Chapter of Chi Sigma Iota.

Dr. Ybañez-Llorente is an active member of many professional counseling associations and regularly presents at national, regional, and state conferences. Dr. Ybañez-Llorente has published in peer-reviewed journals and books, with research interests including: clinical supervision, ethical and legal issues, multicultural issues in supervision and counseling, professional identity development, advocacy, and childhood anxiety. 

Dr. Ybañez-Llorente has a long history of service to the profession including serving as President of the Texas Association for Counselor Education and Supervision (TACES), TACES Liaison to the Texas State Board of Examiners of Professional Counselors, and Co-Chair of the American Counseling Association Professional Standards Committee (term 2013-2016). She currently serves on the Ethics Committee of the American Counseling Association.    

Dr. Ybañez-Llorente has been recognized for her professional contributions as a recipient of the following awards: Southern Association for Counselor Education and Supervision Pre-tenured Counselor Educator Award; Texas Counseling Association Distinguished Service Awards for Chairing the Awards Committee, Graduate Student Involvement Committee, and Clinician’s Issues, Advocacy, and Public Policy Committee; Texas Counseling Association Advocacy Award; International Association of Marriage and Family Counselors Distinguished Service Award; and the Texas State University Presidential Award for Excellence in Service.  

Office Phone: (512) 245-7985